We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love dogs and laughter, this is the Inn for you!”
Review of Hilltop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If I could give it more stars I would! From the moment we arrived, I knew we had found just the right place to spend our Anniversary and Thanksgiving. This Inn is one of those rare places that feel like home and Meri and Mike like family. We chose The Hilltop Inn in part because we could bring our dog, Mr Posey there as well as the proximity to the trails we wanted to hike. The Inn is cozy and charming. Everywhere you glance are things that make you smile. We stayed in room 6 which is spacious and quaint. The bed was very comfortable and the hand embroidered pillowcases a sweet touch. Meri is a great cook and made the most delicious breakfast every morning for us. I was very happy when she offered for us to have Thanksgiving with her and Mike and their friends. This was the highlight of our trip! Sugar Hill is one of the most beautiful places I have ever traveled to. The sunset on Sunset Hill Road is not to be missed, it is a breathtaking view looking towards the The White Mountains. There is nothing like it. If you are traveling with a beloved dog, look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband,our Golden Retriever and I all had a really good time at the Hilltop Inn. Meri and Mike are so nice and very welcoming. The breakfasts are amazing and the room was very comfortable. We stayed for a week and after eating a leisurely breakfast headed out to hike and explore...so much to do and see in a beautiful area. Our dog Cassie especially loved her adventure. She was treated like a member of the family. With the backyard fenced in and a beautiful field close by to let her run - what more can you ask for. Already recommended to friends and I am sure we will return.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

On a little road trip around New Hampshire and Vermont, my two friends and I recently spent the night at Hilltop Inn. We stayed in room six - which had the most lovely beds, and after a chilly picnic down the road, some much appreciated electric blankets. Mike and Meri were so friendly and welcoming, breakfast was great...we would definitely stay again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Olivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Hill Top Inn and just loved it! Mike and Meri are so wonderful the entire place is just cute, cute, cute. There are countless small, personal touches at every little spot you might look. We could have easily stayed there night after night and oh my gosh, the beds! The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I could keep writing and writing, but if you are contemplating staying here, you should simply to see their amazing doors. I won't spoil the uniqueness of the doors, but they are great. I hope you get the chance to go and enjoy your stay as much as we did. Thank you again Mike and Meri for all the hard work to make The Hill Top Inn such a cozy and welcoming place to stay! Cheers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Meri and Mike are a very welcoming couple and once through the front door you immediately feel at home. The House is a great place to stay and the beds are the best ever! A super place to unwind and if you go to New Hampshire your stay will not be complete unless you stay at the Hilltop. Great dogs and birds (In the garden) too! A very special place.

Room Tip: Go for the big one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boopdog, Owner at Hilltop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks Terry. It was a delight meeting you both as well.
We believe that any guest that stays at your B&B in Sollihill will be as happy there as you were here.
Thanks for all the laughs!
Meri and Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hilltop because we wanted a pet friendly inn. Meri the owner couldn't have been nicer. She loves dogs and let ours feel very welcome. Meri also provided wonderful varied breakfasts each day. We looked forward to them each day. Coffee was available early which was appreciated. It was a very enjoyable stay of four nights. We would go back when in Sugar Hill.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 which was filled with natural light. very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sycamore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Innkeepers Mike and Meri Hern will make you feel welcome the minute you arrive to Hilltop Inn. Sugar Hill is a very special place that seems to lower your blood pressure and Hilltop Inn fits right in! Charming, comfortable rooms, a great back deck to sit and have a glass of wine if you wish and watch the bird feeders, cozy couches by the wood stove in the winter - all very pleasant. And, for us, the added enjoyment of being able to bring able to have our Golden Retriever with us is great. Mike and Meri spoiled her totally too. Delicious breakfasts are included too, as are unlimited trips to Meri's cookie jar (home made of course!). The Innkeepers are also extremely knowledgeable about the area, where to hike, sightsee, dine casually or finely, whatever you need to make your time at Hilltop Inn perfect. If you're looking for a truly comfortable make-yourself-at-home country inn experience, definitely give this place a try. I'm sure you'll end up being repeat visitors as we are!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugar Hill
0.5 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
175 reviews
2 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
389 reviews
5.8 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
230 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 9 Norton Ln, Sugar Hill, NH 03586-4256
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range: $90 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop is a lovely very welcoming B&B that has been owned and operated for 28 years by Meri and Mike Hern.We welcome you to share our magical home with us when you are in the Franconia Notch area.Our 6 guest rooms are all unique.They feature full private baths; antiques; lots of fluffy towels and crisp comfortable linens on our newly upgraded beds. This spring we have added new hotel mattress toppers which make every bed incredibly comfortable.Sleep well and awake to a large country breakfast and the many wonderful nearby adventures.We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing