We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast after reading all the positive reviews on this site. We must have stayed at a different Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast than the other reviewers because we had quite a different experience. Upon arriving at the house, we immediately noticed the big “Vacancy” sign and that the grass was grossly overgrown. Later, someone was out mowing it. The paint was chipping both inside and out. We walked into a musty reception area where Mary Ann greeted us. Though she was friendly, she did not go out of her way to familiarize us with the area (we quickly found out there wasn’t much to do). Yet she had a big “Don’t” list on the wall and gave us a book with the same list of things not to do at her bed and breakfast. The house is circa 1850’s and has a certain charm. But much of it needs repairs, some minor, some major. Knowing that we were arriving and being her only guests, I would have thought that she would have made the place more welcoming. She did have the window air conditioners running in our rooms and fresh baked cookies for us at 4 pm. Mowing the lawn before we arrived, fixing the loose door handle (we couldn’t close the bedroom door without locking it since the handle was ready to fall off), fixing the broken shower handle, replenishing the granola downstairs which was almost empty when we arrived and soon after ran out, providing towels without bleach stains, dusting the 20 year old alarm clock in our room, etc. would have made our stay much better. When we arrived back in the late afternoon, we found our beds were made but we didn’t have clean towels. There was chipping paint in the bedrooms, a radiator with old water stains in the bathroom, wallpaper trim that didn’t extend the length of the wall, a loose curtain rod that fell when we tried to close the curtains, and many more details that just made us feel like the proprietor did not care about her property or us. Our room didn’t have a TV but our son’s room did; it was an old tube TV with a built-in VCR. She doesn’t get cable or satellite channels but she had a DVD and VHS library for our use. She said she had wireless internet but alas she only had a limited MiFi and it didn’t reach our bedrooms. The inn is located on the state highway so we heard every car and truck pass by. Our first breakfast consisted of clementines, two pancakes, and two soy breakfast patties. Since we are vegetarian, we are happy she had this alternative to the bacon. The next morning she gave us fruit bowls and French toast with breakfast patties. The inn is located in the middle of absolutely nothing with the closest “town” two miles away. There is little to do there so I don’t know why someone would stay at this place. If you are visiting Mt. Washington, I would highly recommend staying in an entirely different area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shampeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Mt. Washington Bed & Breakfast is my preferred place to stay when traveling in New Hampshire. It is clean, quiet and it feels like returning home for the weekend rather than just checking into hotel accommodations. Mary Ann's cooking is top notch and she does everything possible to make sure your stay is both pleasant and memorable. The Mt. Washington Bed & Breakfast is a hidden gem of the White Mountains!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at Mary Ann's in Jan and Feb - Nothing changes, same clean, warm cozy rooms and the best HOT Breakfasts. You don't have to worry about lunch as her dishes will fill you up and if you like you may ask for seconds!
And the hospitality is second to none, so go and relax then X/C ski at Great Glen (Mt Washington Auto Road) return and homemade cookies and Tea await you. No TV or cell phone
reception but who really needs it on a getaway.
Mary Ann's list of resturants for dinner in Gorham is also a good choice.

Room Tip: Only second floor rooms and any Queen size will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nora125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moosewatcher, Owner at Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your review! I enjoyed meeting you both and seeing you again in February. Look forward to seeing you again in the future and I'll have those cookies waiting for you! We do have a first floor room - the Goldfinch Room - maybe your next visit.
Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mt. Washington B & B to celebrate our 30th anniversary in October 2012. Neither of us had ever been to a B & B before. This place is superb. It was everything a B & B should be: quaint, comfortable rooms, a wonderful host, and incredible food! Host Mary Ann obviously takes pride in her breakfasts and goes above and beyond in accommodating your preferences. We've already recommended the Mt. Washington B & B to friends, and plan to go back again someday. I know that we wouldn't ever be able to find a better place.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moosewatcher, Owner at Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was such a pleasure meeting you both and hope to see you again in the future.
Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last July and had a wonderful time. We were supposed to go four years ago but my husband ended up in the hospital and the trip was postponed due to his health. Mary Ann was awesome. She held our deposit for us, and kept in touch with us all of that time. When we finally met her in person, she seemed like an old friend. The breakfasts were fabulous and the suite was very comfortable and quiet. It was our first time back in New England in 27 years, and exactly what we had missed all of that time. I highly recommend the Mt. Wash. B & B and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyman266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moosewatcher, Owner at Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

So glad I was able to apply your deposit to this stay and that I got to meet you! Thank you for your review - hope to see you again in the future!
Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Although we only stayed one night we really enjoyed our stay here. The room was very comfortable and all amenities were provided. Mary Ann was a terrific hostess and was happy to share information and stories. She suggested 'Saalt Pub' in Gorham for dinner which was fantastic and the breakfast at the B&B was delicious.

I would definitely recommend Mt Washington B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seerenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Mt washington B & B in October during our trip through New England. We loved the quirky nature of the Inn and found Mary Ann to be a wonderful host. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was good and our room very comfortable. A very good, peaceful location for visiting this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParysValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
17.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
17.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,760 reviews
3.3 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
704 reviews
23.1 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast

Address: 421 State Route 2, Shelburne, NH 03581-3006
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: $85 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come be pampered at this small family owned and operated Bed & Breakfast in the White Mountains. Our Bed & Breakfast is a Federal style farmhouse built in 1853. The B & B sits on 5.5 Acres at the entrance to the Mt. Washington Valley and has views of Mts. Washington, Madison, & Adams. The 7 guest rooms all have private baths, 2 have whirlpool tubs! Rates include a full breakfast and afternoon baked goodies! Come to play, come to stay - hike, bike, fish, snowshoe, ski, shop, or just relax with a book and read. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing