We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
The Wolfeboro Inn(Wolfeboro)(Great Value!)
$159
$118
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmers Motel(Sanbornville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
109
39
10
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
39
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bmy wife and inew hampshirethe ownerprime ribfruitdining roomat homefirst floornext morninghomemade cookiesgreat foodliving sociallook forwardlarge picturebreakfast was deliciousget away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 163 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went there through a living social deal in October 2011. We were let in by a tall lady whose name we shall never know,because the first thing she said was " sign in the book and pay for your room". There was no hi , introductions or allowing us to put down our bags. We had been to so many nice inns before, this came as a shocker. Of anything else the extreme unfriendiness and her attitude of doing us a big favor by letting us in the inn, left a sour taste. With this attitude maybe she should not be in the service industry. We had a tiny room with a weird closet bathroom. Part of the package was a massage which was the only good thing. The cooking lesson was average and so was the food. Overall an uncomfortable and awkward experience!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
7  Thank naren2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Whoever designed the website deserves a medal ( from the owners prospective). A punch on the nose( from my prospective) it looked so good, unfortunately, it wasn't The Inn is tired, dated and in need of a redo, the owner calls herself a Chef, honestly that's surprising . Breakfast on both mornings wasn't good the first morning she served Quiche, which wasn't cooked properly on the bottom, raw dough is not very pleasant, accompanyed by greasy bacon , applesauce as a fruit and a doughy muffin. The following morning she served pancakes, doughy, mushy and sweet with a greasy sausage . Store bought hard cake and tasteless fruit. Both mornings bottled juice, and week coffee . We had the best room offered , which is situated right by the dining room, with a small flat screen TV in the corner of the room not easily seen from the king size bed I think very overpriced for $200 a night.

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank emjaytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this week for his birthday. The gorgeous 200 year old house is just beautiful. It is up on a hill with a lovely view in a historic part of town. The gardens are very well kept up and beautiful. Our stay was so relaxing and peaceful. Janel was very welcoming and left us in peace, which is what we wanted. The soaps are to die for - a lavender lemon grass type scent and the bedding is super comfortable. There were TVs in all the rooms. Not that we used ours! I can only hope we'll be back.

Room Tip: We looked at all the different rooms when we were there and the one downstairs looked really nice. We stayed in the Sanborn Room which only had local TV. All the rest had Dish Satelite TV
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaisinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Went for week-end with friends. Nice time but a rather average B & B. My room had the bathroom in a closet. Perhaps It would have been worth the price with a Groupon!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank pepperknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here with my fiancee for a little winter R&R. We had bought a Living Social voucher that included a cooking class, which was fun and enlightening, and massages. The food was amazing and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I can't stop thinking about the homemade cookies that were at our disposal.

Room Tip: Frost room is gorgeous, but the bathroom is a bit small. Owner mentioned that's next on the agenda for updating.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porkachop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews