We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Sanbornville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just like home.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a charming, if a little quirky, old house, with historical connections and interesting architectural features. We stayed for two nights in the Tibbetts Room, on the third floor. With sleeping for four, in two seperate rooms, there was an unfinished feel about Tibbetts but the spare bed gave us plenty of space for repacking our cases prior to our return home. The bathroom was smallish, with period fittings, and shower (no bath). We loved the old wooden floors and the period decor.

A very warm welcome from Gretchen, with tea/coffee and cookies on offer, really set the scene for a very enjoyable stay. Gretchen just exudes calmness and gentleness, ideal for setting a restful atmosphere. Janel, as well as cooking superb-tasting breakfasts, also proved to be a very good porter, carrying our two suitcases upstairs with no apparent effort!

The rooms were very clean and warm and the views to front and back were beautiful.
The location is very good for the Lakes and for Portsmouth, a good place for a day visit.

In summary, a charming place to stay where we were made to feel as family rather than customers! We are happy that we chose the Wakefield Inn and would definitely revisit next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazCranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
91
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Wakefield Inn. We agree with the recent review Jim/Barb that this is not a standard hotel. It is an old house with all the character (and flaws) old houses have. But, it was very clean, homey, warm, and an excellent place for a relaxing weekend in the country. Even though we stayed in one of the least expensive rooms, the bed was one of the most comfortable as compared to other B&Bs or hotels and we had a wonderful view. The sheets were great too.
The room was on the back of the house and was very quiet, but there is not that much traffic on the road so I don't think the rooms at the front of the house would be a problem. We loved the wonderful wood floors, the fireplaces, and the excellent food. We made dinner reservations one night, and were very glad we did. The menu is posted ahead of time on the website. The Inn is also easy to get to, and is centrally located. Don't miss the Via Lactea farm, just down the road. It took us 30 minutes to make a 5 minute drive because we kept stopping to take photos of the amazing scenery.
Also, it bears mentioning that this was our 2nd attempt to stay at the Inn - we had a travel complication/mishap the first time, and although the owner and manager could have charged us anyway for the late cancellation, they were more than accommodating in helping us reschedule. That says a lot about the character of the people running the place. We are so glad we finally made it out for a weekend at the Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if your room has a television (our room didn't and we didn't miss it at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

As my wife and I entered and saw our room (the least expensive offered) we looked at each other and said, "This is not the Hampton Inn." And it wasn't. We had stayed 5 days at a Hampton Inn and found it very nice. The Wakefield Inn is NOT a Hampton Inn and doesn't try to be. But it was a pleasant surprise and we are so glad we stayed there. The breakfasts (2 days) were very good and the dinner I helped prepare with Chef Janel was really fun and educational and, if I say so myself, very, very good. Give this place and the hosts a chance and you will be glad you did. Jim (and Barb)

Room Tip: I have no idea what the other rooms were like, but our bathroom was quite small, but clean and adequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Wakefield Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we had a wonderful time. We had massages in our room (Dave is excellent!), and thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class with Janel, who is friendly and fun to chat with. I now know how to make duck that isn't overly greasy, and enjoyed our dinner immensely. We spent the evening after the cooking class chatting with another couple staying there in the dining room.

The inn is beautiful, and the grounds doubly so. It was rainy while we were there, but we did get a chance to wander out into the yard, which has a garden and a koi pond.

The Wakefield Inn was a wonderful base for visiting our favorite places. The Yankee Smokehouse in West Ossippee is about a half hour away, North Conway about an hour, Laconia (Fun Spot and Keller Haus!) also about an hour. We also discovered Wolfeboro, which is very cute.

All in all, we had a fantastic time and will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The David Copp room was very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katespace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

A charming surprise. While at first glance it is a little dissapointing, as it is in a sleepy village with nothing around, it proved to be warm and charming, and we recommend it to anyone looking for confort, rest and relaxation! The breakfast was absolutely first rate.

Jacques

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesN555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

What a treat this place was. My wife and I went up here for a few days after our wedding to relax and it turned out to be such a pleasant and clean place with reasonable prices. Janel & Gretchen make sure you are taken care of with the food and amenities. The cooking class with the Chef and Owner Janel was AMAZING and so much fun. The messages in our rooms were perfect and the breakfast in bed really was the cherry on top. It's 15 minutes to Wolfeboro and right off Rt. 16. Easy access to all eastern New Hampshire sites. It's also less then 30 mins to the Castle in the Clouds which is a much see.

Room Tip: Sanborn Room is the best room to stay in. It's huge, private bathroom, bathrobes and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnugs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

A charming historic home in the sleepy hamlet of Wakefield. Beautiful grounds and an Inn that should not be missed. The Inn is run by a chef and the food is wonderful. Every breakfast was a treat including items such as peach scones and omlets stuff with tomatoes. The rooms were appointed with lovely linens and the furnishings fit the period of the house. It is near the lake district with many outdoor activities. A definite find!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tstoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornville
9.4 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
19.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ossipee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
18.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
8.2 mi away
The Windrifter Resort
The Windrifter Resort
#6 of 6 in Wolfeboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant
Address: 2723 Wakefield Rd, Sanbornville, Wakefield, NH 03872-4374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Wakefield > Sanbornville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant is a Historic Bed and Breakfast located in a quaint New England Village. Just minutes from Wolfeboro, NH and Lake Winnipesaukee. Come stay and enjoy the gardens, birds, and peaceful mountains from either the front porch or the back patio. Relax in the hammock with a good book. Join us for dinner in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Wakefield Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wakefield Hotel Sanbornville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing