We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Week end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanbornton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent a wonderful week end here at the end of October for a last minute, romantic get-a-way. The Inn is very clean and the location perfect. The big front porch or the dock, hammock or lawn chairs right on the lake offer great options for a quiet conversation, a glass of wine together or a place to simply relax and contemplate. The beds are really comfortable and the sheets are very soft. (we actually bought a set of the sheets and had them shipped home - John ordered them for us). The Innkeepers, John and Cindy, were delightful and offered great suggestions about where to eat. We had targeted a few restaurants and they helped us narrow down the choice. If you are a breakfast fan, John cooks an amazing breakfast.This would be a great place to escape with the girls for a week end, or have a small, intimate wedding. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you, and look forward to your return. I am glad you found the bed comfortable, and hope that you are enjoying your sheets. We really try to focus on the two things that make a B&B special. Our Beds, and our Breakfasts. It is good to hear that we hit the mark for you. Thanks again, and we will see you soon, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 189 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The house is absolutely idealistic in every way for a fall and winter getaway. It is very cozy with a classic New England feel to the decor. The highlight is definitely the beautiful fireplace with granite and quartz accents. The owners are very friendly and personable and will do whatever they can to make you comfortable. My boyfriend and I stayed in the suite which gets quite cold at night (most New England homes do) so dress warm! The thermostat was acting up and wouldn't go above 55 at night which is why I didn't give them 5 stars. However, the downstairs of the suite is great for privacy if you don't want to watch television with other guests. There's unlimited coffee, apple cider, and tea. The breakfast the first day was blueberry swirl crumb cake, fresh berries, and five cheese frittata (which I personally didn't care for) and the second day was apple cinnamon muffins, cantaloupe and berries, and peach melba toast. The second day was fantastic for the breakfast and totally redeemed the day before. Overall, the family is great, home is perfect, and we plan on coming back this summer or fall.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SGKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Samantha, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you and David as guests at the Lake House. We are glad that you had a great time while you were here, and we want to apologize for the temperature issues that you experienced on your visit. You will be happy to know that we are having the whole Inn insulated, as I write this. The Lake House at Ferry Point is over 200 years old, and until now, did not have any insulation in the walls or attic. That has been remedied now, and the Inn is warm and cozy, even on the coldest nights! We look forward to seeing you both again before to long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a very relaxing weekend here in mid-November to
Celebrate our 38th. Wedding anniversary. The innkeepers, Cindy and John were very friendly and had great suggestions about where to eat for dinner and things to do in the area. The breakfasts served were delicious. The Winnisquam Room we stayed in was very comfortable and had a beautiful view of the lake. We would like to return in the warmer weather to enjoy the lake and maybe bring our kayaks to explore the lake area. We met two other couples during our stay and had some great conversations with them. We had dinner with one of the couples and enjoyed talking with them, since the husband was originally from our home state and grew up near us. Hope to see Cindy and John next summer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirlWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Irene, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We would love to have you back in the warmer weather. You are welcome to bring your kayaks, or we do have several that our guests are welcome to use while staying at the Inn. We also have a peddleboat that you may want to try. It was nice meeting you and getting to know you a little. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My daughter and her husband to be decided on the Lake HoUse venue for their wedding. We were treated to an excellent, well appointed home to enjoy the festivities. There was room for everyone. The rooms were perfect, the food was perfect and our hosts were quite amiable and helpful. I would recommend this spot for a getaway or a full happening such as the wedding. If I had not liked it,,, the whole thing would have been moved elsewhere...as it was it was the dream come true for the couple and since all of the guests were treated to the weekend, how could anyone who attended have a complaint. When you get your room and meals gratis, you should probably not express anything other than gratitude and high praise....(P> just a little suggestion when attending someone elses happening. THe MOM. feel free to browse the weekend pics at Mary Roueche Hill page on facebook.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent, if you have physical issues ask for one downstairs or with one flight of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equeslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We were honored to be the site for your daughter's wedding, and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The wedding went off beautifully, and it seemed that everyone had a wonderful time. We know it was a long trip for you to come from California, and we are glad that you and your brother were able to spend some additional time here at the Lake House. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I hosted our wedding at the Lake House this past November and had an unforgettable time. We rented all nine rooms (including the adjoining suite) and could not have felt more at home. Each bedroom was immaculate and individually charming, the owners were inviting and hospitable, and the breakfast each morning was to die for. We wanted a cozy and comfortable scene for our intimate 16 person ceremony and got exactly that.
Thank you again John and Cindy!

Room Tip: The downstairs room has a tub that will change your life :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Joe, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you, Kelin, and your guests for your wedding celebration. Even though it was a little cold outside, the day was beautiful. We wish you both every success and happiness as you journey through life together. We look forward to seeing you again before to long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The breakfast was excellent. The rest was average, with very little hospitality. The rooms are nice and the house is very clean. I over stated the amount of hospitality, there was actually none. There is a place in town called the local, eat there. It was soooo good. I tried a few different items off the menu and each on was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Jason, Thank you for your review. We really value feedback from our guests, and use it to improve the way we do things. We were, quite frankly, confused by your opinion that there was "very little" or [no] hospitality during your stay. You were here as a guest at a wedding, and raised no concerns with us, the Bride, or the Groom about needs, or expectations of "hospitality" that you had that went unfulfilled. The Bride and her family booked the entire Inn, and carefully planned the ceremony, the menus, the restaurant, and the activities for their day and their celebration with their family and friends. As innkeepers, we are, and were, always available to our guests, however, we are not guests of the wedding, and as such, we take a role that is far more in the background than would ordinarily be the case. In this particular instance, we provided the presence that Kelin, the Bride, and Joe, the Groom, wanted for their wedding and guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant where the wedding couple hosted their "rehearsal" dinner. It is called "the Local Eatery." We will pass along your complements to Kevin, the Chef/Owner.

If you have specific concerns that you would like to discuss, we would welcome a call at 603-524-0087.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the inn in August in the Winnisquam room. The room was very nice and view could not be beat! Waking up to a view of the lake in the morning was priceless. I highly recommend this room. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and they were always available during the day if we needed something. The homemade breakfasts were excellent, although we had hoped for an entree that featured the famous maple syrup they advertised. We concluded that it was too expensive to serve breakfast that used syrup, but who knows. It also would have been nice to have a choice for breakfast - maybe two choices. But the food was very good and the courses were great.

Our only real complaint when we left was that there was a complete lack of a useful and practical sitting area on the lake. The porch has a lot of great seating, but across the street on the water there is nothing. There are a couple wood lounge chairs that are very hard and uncomfortable and covered in spiders. There is a nice hammock. But that is it. The gazebo is nice but it wasn't clean and there was no seating. We love sitting on the water and for the only inn on the lake, we were very surprised that more thought wasn't put in to the sitting area on the lake. The neighboring houses have those nice plastic adirondack chairs and that's an easy and affordable option.

Overall we had an excellent stay and we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Stephanie, thank you so much for your review. Since your stay we have made a number of changes that I think address your concerns. We repainted the gazebo, and now have seating for five guests there. In addition, we have recliners on the point. We will focus additional attention on keeping spiders off and away from the now ample seating on the point.

We pride ourselves on our Inn and our breakfasts. One thing that we work hard on is varying the menu for each day of a guest's stay, so that breakfast is different each morning. Some days the menu includes French toast or Cindy's famous California 49er's flap jacks, and other times we do savory breakfasts, or sweet breakfast that does not lend itself to maple syrup. I am sorry that the menu did not happen to include maple syrup while you were here, but I will make a note of it for the next time you visit to make sure we have it warmed up and ready!

It was a pleasure to meet you and Patrick. We look forward to seeing you again before to long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornton
3.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
4.0 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
6.3 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#9 of 13 in Laconia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House at Ferry Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House at Ferry Point

Address: 100 Lower Bay Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269-2709 (Formerly Ferry Point House Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornton
Price Range: $200 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House at Ferry Point 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House at Ferry Point is the only lakefront bed and breakfast in New Hampshire's Lakes Region. On our quiet, scenic property, you will be treated to idyllic views of Lake Winnisquam and its glistening water, our luscious gardens, and guardian mountains in the distance. The Lake House at Ferry Point is the perfect New Hampshire Inn. At our lake front location you will enjoy relaxing on the big front porch, or if you prefer a more activity-filled lake house getaway, we are conveniently located near all of the best attractions that New Hampshire has to offer. You will love our comfortable ambiance, delectable breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lake House at Ferry Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing