We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming--Relaxing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanbornton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming--Relaxing B&B”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Recently my wife and I stayed at the LAKE HOUSE for the second time. This past June we celebrated our wedding anniversary there. Sitting on the porch overlooking Lake WINNISQUAM enjoying a glass of wine was so enjoyable that this February we went back to celebrate her birthday.Instead of sitting on the chilly porch we were able to cozy up before a roaring fire in the main room.
The Lake House in located directly on Lake Winnisquam.It is only 5miles from the Tanger Mall in Tilton.The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable and well stocked with toiletries.your breakfasts are a delight.
However , what separates the Lake House for every place else we have ever stayed at is the friendly ,caring ,attentiveness of John and Cindy , the hosts.
Our second visit was not our last.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor by the fireplace has a huge Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Joseph, Thank you for your review. We have enjoyed having you and Ann here to celebrate your Anniversary and now her birthday. We look forward to having you both back for many years to come.We have really enjoyed getting to know you both. We continue to make improvements to the Inn, and are excited for you to see them. I recall that you both enjoy reading by the fireplace. We have had it completely tuck-pointed and acid washed, so it looks amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
131
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I planned our holiday through New England playing it safe by booking rooms at well-known inns, but the only place we were unable to find one was around Sanbornton, so we chose the Lake House at Ferry Point for bed and breakfast. We were so pleased we did as it was certainly one of the highlights of our holiday. It was a truly beautiful setting on the side of the lake and the house itself was lovely. Every room was individually furnished with antique furniture and wonderful quilts. Cindy and John, our hosts, were so welcoming and immediately made us feel like old friends. For me, it was a real New England experience and we would certainly recommend this as it was a really delightful place to stay and should not be missed.

Room Tip: I loved waking up with a view of the lake and would definitely opt for that again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Patricia, Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you, and hope we will see you again when your travels bring you back this way. We have been making a lot of exciting changes that we think you will like.

Cindy and I really enjoy hosting guests from all over the world, and were happy to have had guests from twenty separate countries in 2012. Hopefully that will get us more well known as a year-round lodging option for the Lakes Region of New Hampshire.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We received our two night stay at the Lake House at Ferry Point Bed and Breakfast as a Christmas gift from our two children. We were not sure we were going to enjoy it in the wintertime but we did and had a wonderful experience. It snowed on our second night there but we were still able to go out to a very good Mexican Restaurant nearby that John had recommended. When we returned, we got into some very comfortable clothes and played Scrabble by the beautiful granite stone fireplace. We were warm and cozy and had a great time. Libby, their daughter, made us some special peanut butter and chocolate cookies to have by the fire. The two breakfasts that we had were prepared by John and were very special and delicious. Cindy served us breakfast and kept us entertained with stories of her very interesting and special life. We especially enjoyed the photos she showed us of some artwork she had created in the past. What talent she has! Our room was the Lake Winnisquam room which faces the lake and the view from the room of the sunrise in the morning on the lake was a fantastic sight to awaken to. All in all our stay with John and Cindy at the Bed and Breakfast tops the list of the previous B&B's we've stayed at. We are looking forward to coming back when the weather is warmer and we can take full advantage of beautiful Lake Winnisquam right outside the front door of the B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dennis, Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed meeting you and Sue. With a 50 degree "warm snap" that just rolled through, the snow here is all melted, but the temps have dropped again and the ice fishermen (and women) are out in full force. Winter or summer, there are always a lot of things to do, and we are glad you found things that you enjoyed. I look forward to hearing how your first Geocaching outing works our for you. I am sure you will be an old hand at it by the time we see you again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Lake House is a serene, quiet environment, perfect for those seeking a relaxing escape. Cindy and John are thoughtful and discreet hosts with an eye for detail. Our room was bright, clean and cozy with a beautiful lake view. Breakfast was delicious. We also loved the big fireplace.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank atanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you found the Lake House to be a relaxing getaway during the winter. This is really the first winter that the Lake House has been open, and we look forward to that being one of the many permanent changes we are making here. The fireplace in the living room is really a gem, and we try to keep it burning brightly. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is by far the best Bed & Breakfast I've ever stayed at. I really enjoyed the home environment that the inn brought. I really felt like home being there. The breakfast creations by John are absolutely to die for & Cindy's 49er flapjack's are a MUST HAVE! Each room is comfortable and elegant. We stayed in the Solitude suite which is AMAZING!! Totally worth the extra bucks because the view from the California king bed in the mornings is breath taking! I cannot wait to come back! John & Cindy are amazing hosts and the kids are wonderful helpers!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorotkaTotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review Dorota. We really enjoyed having you and look forward to your return. I am sorry that you didn't get the chance for your polar bear plunge, but feel free to come back and we will make sure there is some open water if you decide to go for it. Winter in the Lakes Region has so much to do and explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Cindy and John are great hosts. They were kind enough to ask about our dietary restrictions ahead of time and went out of their way to bring lactose free products for me! John is a great cook and Cindy is cheerful and smiley, always making sure that you are comfortable.

The house is beautiful! We stayed on the first floor room with the jacuzzi tub, which is great. The common room is cozy with comfortable sofas and chairs, a warm fireplace and well stocked with book, games and movies and a really huge TV! There is no way that you can get bored over here.

The location is perfect! The house is right on the shores of lake Winnisquam with a gazebo by the lake. Cindy told me that the water is quite warm in the summer and they have kayaks, floats, life jackets and other equipment for guest use. Overall an all season place!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room is great although it does not have a lake view like some of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We enjoyed having you both here at the inn. This is the first winter for the Inn to be open. Previously, it was just opened from late May to Late October. The area really has a lot to offer during the winter season, including skiing, shopping, and great hikes, which I know you enjoyed. We look forward to having you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

John and Cindy are the most gracious hosts and the atmosphere is amazing! Sunrise on the lake, chilled wine served to us on the wrap around porch at sunset. Each room has a different feel, all of them wonderfully decorated and warm and cozy. John and Cindy and family leave you wanting for nothing - if you want a quiet time away or if you want to meet the other guests, The Beckers cater to your every whim.
Kayaks and paddle boats to use, a lovely private beach right on the property, a great place to swim (we swam over a mile out to the point and back!) Close to quaint lake side downtown with fabulous restaurants and shopping, close to best skiing and hiking in the East! THE perfect getaway - only 2 hours from Boston but you'll feel a million miles away! Can't WAIT to go back! I sound like an ad for the place, but I swear, it is all true!!

Room Tip: any room is great. Looks like there is a separate carriage house with a room(s) if you want. Third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Lisa, We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are looking forward to your return. Although the lake is a little to cold for swimming now, there are a lot of winter activities nearby. Thanks you for your kind words. We are working hard to continuously improve, and we are happy that you have appreciated the work we have done thus far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornton
15.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
324 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
4.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
659 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
8.1 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House at Ferry Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House at Ferry Point

Property: The Lake House at Ferry Point
Address: 100 Lower Bay Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269-2709 (Formerly Ferry Point House Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House at Ferry Point 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House at Ferry Point is the only lakefront bed and breakfast in New Hampshire's Lakes Region. On our quiet, scenic property, you will be treated to idyllic views of Lake Winnisquam and its glistening water, our luscious gardens, and guardian mountains in the distance. The Lake House at Ferry Point is the perfect New Hampshire Inn. At our lake front location you will enjoy relaxing on the big front porch, or if you prefer a more activity-filled lake house getaway, we are conveniently located near all of the best attractions that New Hampshire has to offer. You will love our comfortable ambiance, delectable breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lake House at Ferry Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing