We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanbornton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our stay at The Lake House at Ferry Point was perfection!! Our beautiful room, the amazingly delicious breakfast, all accomodations, the inn keepers... nothing could have been improved upon. We have stayed at several B&B's in the New England area & this is just first class. We also spent some time in nearby Meredith NH, a beautiful town on Lake Winnepisiakee (sp??), so it's near by other great places to visit. Ferry Point is a great escape for couples but would be equally fun for a family to enjoy the breathtakingly beautiful lake w/ fishing/canoeing/paddle boating. Will be returning in the Fall...can't even how beautiful it'll be then.

Room Tip: All room are beautiful, but the room we stayed in on the 3rd floor with the bank of 3 windows was sp...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Melissa, Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you and Jon stay with us, and look forward to you returning to see the fall colors. I think they will be as breathtaking as you are anticipating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Lake House at Ferry Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had seen the photos on the website, but seeing this fabulous, clear lake live is amazing! The grand porch overlooks Lake Winisquam and Ferry Point. I'm not one much for sitting still, but this is a great place to do it. The sun glints off the lake, the breeze blows away your cares (and any heat). We took out kayaks, and the paddleboat and swam at the beach (wear your water shoes, there are nice lake rocks in there).

We stayed four days. There were four tasty breakfasts, a tour of Sqaum Lake (i.e. On Golden Pond fame) a trip to the Flume Gorge and more.

Cindy and John are great hosts, warmth, great food and a friendly way. We enjoyed sitting on the grand porch, on the point and in the parlor.

This is a good one.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an amazing lake view. The rooms in the back will be away from the street.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSavages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I can't recommend this place enough. The Becker's, John and Cindy go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable. My husband and I have stayed at other B&B's and I have to say this was one of the best. We felt welcomed from the very beginnig. There was a basket of local goodies in our room along with some of the things people tend to forget, toothbrush, razor, etc. We were welcomed back to our room on our second night with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries. What a nice treat! And John surpasses himself with the breakfasts. Make sure to bring your appetite! We had a berry parfait, followed by a spinach and feta cheese quiche with more fresh fruit and a large slice of ham. The next morning were some fabulous pancakes (Cindy's recipe) and then a cheese omelet with salsa and to top it off warm sauteed strawberries with cream. No lunch for us either day! Cindy is an accomplished artist and is thinking of doing a special package with art classes. I can't wait!!! We definetly felt at home, sitting on the porch before dinner, going across the street to sit in the gazebo and kayacking on the lake. We are planning a trip back in the fall/winter. Kudos to great inn keepers!!! Kathi

Room Tip: It's hard to say which is the best room. We stayed in the Wentworth with views of the beautiful...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misty4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Thank you Kathi for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you and Doug again soon, and we will see what other great breakfasts we can whip up for you guys to enjoy/ We will let you know as soon as we put together the artist's retreat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stay at many BnB's around New England and have enjoyed some nice experiences however this was one of the best! We had an absolutely wonderful weekend, great room, great hospitality by the Inn keepers, great food, a perfect stay for any reason...although the weather wasn't on our side we found we didn't even notice. We had plenty to do in and around the area and with the room we had, it didn't matter what the weather was doing. It was a great stay, we will be back for sure.
Alex and Lorri

Room Tip: If you can do it, go for the suite but many of the rooms have great views of the lake and really tha...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thanks for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a fun getaway for memorial day weekend, but didn't want to spend a lot of time driving. Much to our delight, we stumbled upon The Lake House at Ferry Point on Groupon. After a quick 1 hour and 45 min drive from Boston, we arrived on Saturday and were greeted by our hosts, John and Cindy. John gave us a quick tour of the beautiful house. All the rooms were exceptionally charming and most had a great view of Lake Winnisquam. We stayed in the "Lake Winnisquam" room (which had three windows, each with a view of the lake). There was a delicious plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in the room. The house itself had a large inviting porch, a gazebo by the water, and dock perfect for launching a kayak or getting in for a swim.

The location of the Lake House is ideal. We were able to indulge in multiple outdoor activities (hiking and kayaking, among others) and another equally physically daunting adventure: shopping. On Saturday we hiked to the top of Mt. Major and spent the evening recovering. On Sunday we went kayaking in Fay's Marina, swimming in Lake Winnisquam next to the Lake House, and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall in Tilton. Our hosts were kind enough to provide us with beach towels.

And, saving the best for last, we get to the topic of breakfast. The sautéed strawberries and omelet on Sunday hit the spot. The omelet requires special mention -- it was perfect. We were greeted on Monday with berries in vanilla yogurt and spinach quiche.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and definitely intend to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

We are so happy you both enjoyed your stay and the activities here in the lakes region. We look forward to your return, and promise to have more vegetarian breakfast delights for you to enjoy. We are also happy that we were able to return your ring to its rightful owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As residents of Boston, it was so great to find such a tranquil place right outside the city. And we had an amazing time! Cynthia and John, the owners, are such nice folks -- he is an excellent cook and the house is lovely.

Lots to do in the area. My boyfriend and I are in our mid-twenties so we were definitely in the mood for some excitement. Some great hikes (I recommend Mount Major!) and outlet shopping. We raided the NH liquor store and enjoyed several bottles of wine on the porch, listening to John and Cynthia tell the story of how they met (ask them -- it's a riot!).

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the one with the two-person jacuzzi! The others are quieter but this one rocks.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Lake House at Ferry Point in Sunbornton, NH was a pleasant stay for us. The owners John and Cindy Becker have all the right stuff to make you feel welcome and comfortable. for us, it felt like a home away from home. Since John and Cindy's relocation from Wisconsin just last November, my wife and I were surprised to find ourselves their first bed-and-breakfast guests ever.

The 10+ room B&B, under a similar name, had been run by a couple since the early 1980's. The Inn has a beautiful lake front view over more than 180 degrees with a small point of land and a swimable shorline under a well-aged Norway pine at the water's edge. Under the tree is a granite bench dedicated to someone's memory. I sat there for a time and was easily reminded about who, and therefor what, was most important in my own life.

The house has had many sound additions and renovations since around the turn of the century - when I envision it must have been built. The Beckers made some changes as well, to bring the finishes current I think. We were told that when the house changed hands many furnishings remained. What remains is pleasant and simple, except for the fireplace, which I will leave as a surprise.

Whether after a mid-life career change or early retirement, John seemed to delight in the family's new endeavor at bed-and-breakfasting. In his previous life, he was an attorney. I envisioned that many weary years of battle on the fronts of labor and management relations helped John realize his nascent talent for cooking and hospitality. Cindy's humorous stories from life as a teacher reminded us of our own fun conversation topics. We had a good time.

Yes, a pleasant stay. We hope you enjoy as well.

Paul And Jovita Ricci
Lexington, MA

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jovita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornton
6.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
487 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
329 reviews
3.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
760 reviews
4.0 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
669 reviews
8.1 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House at Ferry Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House at Ferry Point

Address: 100 Lower Bay Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269-2709 (Formerly Ferry Point House Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornton
Price Range: $200 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House at Ferry Point 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House at Ferry Point is the only lakefront bed and breakfast in New Hampshire's Lakes Region. On our quiet, scenic property, you will be treated to idyllic views of Lake Winnisquam and its glistening water, our luscious gardens, and guardian mountains in the distance. The Lake House at Ferry Point is the perfect New Hampshire Inn. At our lake front location you will enjoy relaxing on the big front porch, or if you prefer a more activity-filled lake house getaway, we are conveniently located near all of the best attractions that New Hampshire has to offer. You will love our comfortable ambiance, delectable breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lake House at Ferry Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing