We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Hilltop Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sanbornton
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kingston, New Hampshire, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The menus were very diverse, everyone in our group found something yummy. Drinks were good. The Sunday Brunch is outstanding! So much food, and so much more than just breakfast food. For example there was chicken macaroni and cheese, Mediterranean haddock (spinache, feta, artichoke), eggs benedict with prime rib! Fabulous. Great service too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had dinner here twice during our stay at Steele Hill. It was not busy whatsoever at 6:30 on a Friday night, in fact, I think we were the first ones there. We had the NY sirloin and the prime rib. Both were very well seasoned and served to our liking. My steak was so good that I actually had it again the next night. We thought it was a tad bit pricey, not so much our meals but the children's menu was kind of high. Both of the kids' meals were alright but nothing spectacular, neither one of them finished. The bartender was very on top of things with us, which was nice. We would definitely eat there again when we return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeaganB515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and great food, who could ask for more!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

You do not have to stay at Steele Hill Resort to enjoy The Hilltop Restaurant's views and great food! We have been here several times and each time the food is worth the drive up the hill. Do not go on an foggy day for the views are spectacular and add great dishes to choose from, you will have a very memorial meal. Before your meal, take a minute to stroll the historical building the restaurant is housed in. It is filled with old pictures, the history of the building/Inn and that too will add to your experience. The wait-staff are very attentive and friendly. They do not rush you, all the while not letting you think they have abandoned you. We had nachos as a late lunch snack that were hot and delicious. Dinner: we had their Pumpkin Butternut Raviolis and Chicken Saltimbocca which were both absolutely wonderful. Quality and freshness we would put up against any restaurant in Boston! We felt the prices were reasonable considering the quality of the food. The only negative was, this is a family resort and with that, sometimes, comes parents who have no respect for other guests in the restaurant. Their actions are as though they believe they are at home in their TV rooms/dens'. They were very loud and they let their children run around the restaurant, being very noisy for about 15 minutes before they left. Our experience was greatly improved once they all departed. Other couples in the restaurant at that time seemed relieve too. It would be really nice if restaurants such as this who have the space, could separate couples from family groups.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraniteWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pricey but good”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Room service is just a $5 additional charge. Portions were good, and the calamari was delicious. Ask for the children's menu, it's not on the one they hand out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gypsy1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Food was excellent, servers friendly and accommodating. Best part of our stay. Specialty drinks were awesome as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mg978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hilltop Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hilltop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing