We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient place to eat”

The Hilltop Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sanbornton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient place to eat”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch while staying at the hotel. Service was a little slow, but food was pretty good. It was convenient as it was right on the hotel's complex. Maybe dinner would have been more enjoyable. Views were awesome though

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JG5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    25
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Mac & Cheese”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Title only starts to tell the story. Beautiful restaurant, fabulous food, on a sunny evening in the summer or at lunch time, amazing views. The staff is exemplary and the service outstanding. And they do make the best Sunday Brunch in the area.

The mac and cheese is made with lobster. It is to die for. There menu features choices for everyone, from seafood to steak lover and several vegetarian meals are available. We have eaten there often and all meals have been wonderful. And the service never changes, always excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went to the Restaurant and the food was terrible. The clam chowder was so salty I gave it to my husband to eat and the homemade squash ravioli were so chewy they were like eating stale gummy bears. The maple syrup sauce they put on the ravioli was so sweet I might as well have just taken a whole bottle of syrup and dumped it on top of them. My husband got french onion soup and he said it far to much pepper. He said that the pepper overpowered the onions. He said the chicken Caesar salad was good.

We have been owners for 21 years and this is the first time that the food has been bad. When I mentioned the tough raviolis the bar tender said that fresh raviolis were supposed to be chewy. I had to use a knife to cut through them. My friend is a chef and she makes fresh raviolis all the time and they are not chewy.

I think you need a new chef because the one you have now doesn't know how to cook. We ate off the hill for the rest of our stay.

I have left glowing reviews in the past and this is the only time that I have said anything negative. We go up to Steele Hill at least once a month but we will not be eating there anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were given a gift certificate to the restaurant after a TimeShare sales Presentation so my husband and I went over for brunch. They have your typical breakfast foods (Eggs, Pancakes, French Toast, Bacon, Sausage), they had an Eggs Benedict with real steak (my husband tried it.. said steak was a bit dry due to being out for a while). There was also a made to order waffle and omelette station (I tried both.. delicious!) and the dessert table was huge! I would go there again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Brunch was perfect”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Brunch after checking out of the hotel was a gamble. I wasn't thrilled with our experience, but we were starving!
We chanced it and were thrilled. The waitresses were all fun & helpful. The meat was hot and fresh, the desserts were mouth watering.
Maybe you need to get there earlier? I'm not sure who would have the same buffet we did and not enjoy it.
Glad we did though, after the hotel experience- we deserved it! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cc72704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hilltop Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hilltop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing