We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Steele Hill Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sanbornton
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is our 2nd year staying for a long weekend. I found this time even more enjoyable than last. Once again, the pool was a hit! It wasnt crowded and everyone seemed there for a family vacations (no loud/obnoxious party people here - so dont bother if thats what you're looking for!) The unit we chose (and I must admit, we do choose carefully) was gorgeous and just what we expected from their website. The enclosure of the stairway in the South building was an EXCELLENT idea! Well done! The lobby also got a face lift, which looked great. We rented snow shoes, which was fun. My husbands strap broke and the front desk staff immediately offer to reimburse us, which was nice. In addition, when we arrived back at our room there was a movie bucket stuffed with goodies and a hand written note apologizing for the shoe breaking! Very thoughtful and excellent guest services! We skipped the restaurant but stopped in the tavern for a snack and had a great time there. What more could you ask for? Well done, Steele Hill :-)

Room Tip: It seems room reviews vary by type. Make an informed decision so you are prepared for the room type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 687 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful location in the mountains. The resort itself is quite well-worn and needs some serious updating. I'm not sure if the present buildings would meet current fire codes. The
unit's interior was very old fashioned and worn out. The whole unit was painted a bilious shade of yellow which did not add to its appeal. We had a split unit with the upper portion being a lockout. The bathroom in the lower and main unit was quite peculiar with a somewhat dangerous step-up and step-down to the bathtub. Also very dim lightbulbs which made the bathroom very gloomy. The kitchen was very narrow and again a peculiar shape with walls at odd angles. This is a great location and with some updating and modernising this resort could be really good. The attached golf course was 9 holes, sloping downwards on the face of the mountain. However, it was free to play so no complaints. A few coats of bright paint and some updating of the kitchens and bathrooms would make a huge difference. This resort could be spectacular if upgraded. All in all, we quite liked this resort but were there in early November so it was not crowded. I'm not sure we would have liked it so much if it had been crowded.

Room Tip: ask to see the unit first as some have wonderful views across the lakes and mountains and some face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leedle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary. We had a one bedroom suite in the south wing. The suite was the perfect size for the 2 of us, I don't think it would have been comfortable with any other adults, maybe with children but it would still be tight. The view off the balcony was gorgeous with the mountains in the background. We enjoyed the convenience of walking indoors to the pool and hot tub in this building. We were able to watch one of the Red Sox World Series games from there as there is a large screen TV right across from the hot tub. It was also convenient to walk to the Hilltop restaurant in the same building.

My husband also enjoyed the 9 hole golf course on site.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent two nights here and we had a pretty good amount of fun in the pool part. However, the room service was HORRIFYING. When we first came into our spacious room we were impressed by the space. We checked out all the bathrooms. We soon discovered one of the toilets was already clogged from a previous guest! When we called room service about this disgusting matter, we asked them to bring a plunger and fix our "problem". Instead when we returned skiing that day, we found the plunger waiting for us at the bottom of the stairs in a black trash bag. Ummmm.... Is that even considered room service? Because to me that is flat out laziness. Now to the beds. The master bedroom was actually quite nice, with a king sized bed and a jacuzzi. On the other hand, the second bedroom featured two "twin" sized beds. These were nowhere near twin sized making it very hard to sleep on top of the terrible blankets and mattress. The pool in the east building where we stayed was actually very nice despite the size. The second night, we decided to go to the main pool with the water slide. Supposedly, this was their "big" attraction after reading reviews. The big hot tub was unusable by people under 16, excluding half our family. But kids were allowed in a 3x3 hot tub on the other side, which had a max of 3 kids. The water slide was watched over a women who who blew her whistle every 30 seconds to scream at a kid for being in front of the slide, making it extremely hard to have fun. On top of all this the pool was 4 feet deep at the max, which is great for kids 8 and under, but if your kids are older say goodbye to having fun. Back to the area near the room, very low-rent people occupied some of the rooms making it smell of cigarettes. On of these people thought it was necessary to come out and use profanity in front of kids because it was too noisy for her. So if all this appeals to you go ahead and book a room at the Steele Hill "Resort".

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LetsBeRealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our second time staying here. A little pricey, but we had the 2 bedroom townhouse unit. The unit was dated (10 A & B), the kitchen faucet leaked & I repaired the upstairs toilet so we could use it with out water continuously running. Kitchen area is VERY tight. It is really convenient to be able to walk indoors to the pool area (though from our unit it was quicker to cut across the outside parking lot). Everybody loved the 'waterpark', game rooms, & play areas. We had a great time and used the waterpark both in the evening and the next morning before checkout. Would like to come back in the summer to see more of the resort. Hopefully they will upgrade the accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a higher number. I think they have around 60 or so townhouses and #1 is the furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We did 3 nights between Christmas and New Years and were in the South building. The girls loved the big pool and we spent a fair bit of time there, it is so warm in that building we felt we were in the tropics. We did some tobogganing on the small hill just off the road but regret we did not do the skating on the pond which looked, um, hate to use the word but "whimsical". We also loved playing ping pong and xbox in the lobby area, so much so that now we're thinking of getting a ping pong table at home.

Rooms in the South building were nice. We had a 1 bedroom which means the big living room/kitchen/bathroom/fireplace and murphy bed were in one room and then in an oddly connected way the other room was the master bedroom with a bath and jacuzzi. Our girls loved having the "living room" to themselves. The views from the balcony were outstanding.

Food at the main restaurant was good, it was very dead at the resort so we got great service there and the tavern. Prices are reasonable. We had to leave before the Sunday brunch which we heard was outstanding.

OK so some cons to offset the above? Well it is a remote location, perhaps more than we anticipated so plan to stay there and just relax. The nearest Dunkin is a good 5 miles away..haha. And if you are in the South building and its cold outside you do need to drive over to the main building to use the pool/workout area/games. But I'd say the view from the South room balconies made up for that.

We're going to plan to see if we can come back this summer as we think it would have even more to offer in the summer with the lake, hiking and the outdoor pools.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: South room is what we had and had a nice view and balcony. 1 bedroom is really two separate rooms j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived on a Friday right after a snowstorm, and left before the Polar Vortex descended on us. In between we had a great time. Saturday was so cold (-6) we decided not to go skiing. We brought sleds with us and had a great time sledding on-site in the morning, and then spent the entire afternoon in the indoor pool. The kids had a great time. Unfortunately, on Saturday night there was a fire alarm at 5:30 in the morning. The concerning thing is that I heard it because I was sleeping in the living room, but when I went into the bedroom to get my shoes you couldn't hear a thing! I was the only one in our family aroused by it. Everyone else slept right through it. Anyway, the alarm was for burst pipe in the smaller pool area and we couldn't use that pool on Sunday night after skiing like we had hoped. Monday it rained and was miserable so we left a day early because if all of that rain froze we would have been stuck there for days! Be forewarned if you go in the winter, the big pool area is in the West building which is at the top of a steep hill. It was so cold when we went that despite all efforts the road to the West building was very icy. We had a hard time getting up the hill in our car and parked it at the bottom of the hill and walked up. Thankfully, our room was in the East building and the hill wasn't an issue for the most part. Despite all of this we had a great time. The pool area was really nice, the staff was super friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable. We would like to give this resort another try next year. Hopefully, the weather will cooperate next time!

Room Tip: If you are going in the winter and do not have a 4 wheel drive vehicle you may want to request the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanbornton
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
6.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
337 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#9 of 13 in Laconia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steele Hill Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steele Hill Resorts

Address: 516 Steele Hill Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sanbornton
Price Range: $127 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Steele Hill Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steele Hill Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steele Hill Hotel Sanbornton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing