We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great clean budget choice north of Boston”
Review of Red Roof Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Salem
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A great clean budget choice north of Boston”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Just stayed the one night enroute northern New Hampshire. First time using a Red Roof and I was impressed. Usual American Standard room, but spotless, and with free wifi on site. The check in clerk was lovely and friendly, and the motel is right by the I-93 at junction 2, so convenient yet quiet. A good shower, rooms modern and fresh. Tea/coffee maker in room would be nice, as would a continental breakfast but non existent. However for the price we got a good place to stay at a great prove. Well done Red Roof Salem. Nb. For dinner the 99 restaurant is great and cheap!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomthetank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    66
    40
    21
    16
See reviews for
65
59
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was so surprised to find a clean, comfortable, affordable room at such a low price. Food and shopping nearby, the place is 2 minutes from the major highway. Maybe I was lucky, but my room was great. I would definitely stay here again. Wifi too, and front desk printed directions for me, no hassle. Really nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmelaWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We used a hotel voucher to check in. Stayed in a queen size room. It was surprisingly clean and organize. Clean restrooms, clean towels, clean sheets. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleth Kae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

staying here you get the basics ...seeing it is an economy inn but if you have an issue dont expect to get it solved unless the wonderful Doris is working! the maager is never around and never seems pleasant when talking to anyone. further more if you must speak to anyone about bigger issues dont expect to get i touch with higher up management esp if you cant get in touch with the manager rae or if that manager doesnt seem to want to compensate in any way. I have seen Doris on many occassions do what she can for a fellow guest and id elect her for a pay raise any day!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryberry43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferriero, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Salem Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Could you please provide more detail on the specific areas you found unsatisfactory? You can e-mail me at i0151@redroof.com. I look forward to hearing from you so that we might resolve this situation.

Thank you for sharing your concerns, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Sincerely,

Rae Ferriero
General Manager
Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My wife and I checked in on 8/1/11 for only 1 night. We were in town for an even the following morning. During check in, it was quite busy (around 6pm). There were 5 people ahead of me. There was a group of 3 men who were pretty rude and inpatient with the woman at the front desk. She was working alone and had her hands full. She remained friendly and kept her smile the ENTIRE time, while checking in every group, which I cant see many people doing these days. The room was quite affordable, very clean, no smell, beds were comfortable. The location is great! We would definately reccomend The Red Roof Inn to anyone looking to stay in this area. I hope this helps.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkospikes5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

we recently stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Salem, NH and we were very impressed with the comfort, quality and cleanliness of our room. There were 4 adults in our room and the price was right around $50..you can't beat that! I will definately try other locations when I have the chance. This was my first time with this chain and I was impressed.

Great job Red Roof Inn

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

my daughter was to be married we reserved 10 room one in advance the day befor the wedding my daughter went to check inn,but was informed that general manager had canceled the rooms,when i asked why the rooms were canceled no one new and said the manager was gone for the rest of the week.they did give us the rooms but not together as we requested and not at the same price that we were quoted ,i would not reccomend this place to any one ,i complained to red roof via e-mail and got no satisfaction,they made what should have been my daughters happiest day a very stressful day

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnvitocosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rferriero, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
I was so sorry to hear of your experience at the Red Roof Inn, Salem, NH. I was not familiar with the situation and I would certainly not cancel a group reservation without contacting the participants of the event first. I apologize for the inconvenience and confusion, but I never received an e-mail from you either. Please either call me or e-mail me again, so we can discuss what happened. Thank you,

Rae Ferriero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1.2 mi away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
6.3 mi away
Best Western Merrimack Valley
11.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Manchester Airport
Sleep Inn Manchester Airport
#1 of 1 in Londonderry
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Salem

Property: Red Roof Inn Salem
Address: 15 Red Roof Ln, Salem, NH 03079-2929
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn in Salem, NH is Brand New located just off exit 2 route 93 NH just 1 mile from Canobie Lake Amusement Park in tax free New Hampshire. There you will find games and rides for all ages. It is also less than 3 miles from the tax free Rockingham Mall, many outlet stores and a large selection for your dining needs. The Ice Center is a couple of miles down the road, where there are many hockey tournaments. For your gambling needs, there is the Rockingham Race Track with simulcast horse betting. Beaches in every direction, Manchester, Concord both short drives, Boston also is only 30 minutes away, The Red Roof Inn in Salem is close to all of your travel, entertainment and vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing