We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room Good Value”
Review of Park View Inn Inc.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park View Inn Inc.
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Clean room Good Value”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The room was very clean, spacious- plenty of room in the bathroom and then another sink and counter outside so 2 people could get ready at the same time. Grounds were clean- front desk staff very kind and helpful. Breakfast was only juice and donuts so be prepared if you are looking for something more. Ability to buy Canobie tickets there very convenient- good deal for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    86
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
84
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you want a bargain stay, the Park View Inn is acceptable. It's old, but clean. I'll list the pros and cons we found and hope it helps.

Pros:

Easy to find. Right off I-93 on SR 28 with an easy-to-spot sign.

Clean room and nicely maintained grounds. Not landscaped and the back of the buildings are deteriorating (but you won't care if you don't walk around to the back).

More cable channels than we expected (87) and good internet access.

Two sinks, one in bathroom and one out. However, the one outside the commode was badly cracked and could harbor bacteria.

Three grab bars in tub and one be the toilet.

Curved shower rod.

Exhaust fan did a good job; I could shave right after a shower without wiping the mirror.

Water saver shower head had only one setting, but did a very good job anyway.

Towels and washcloths were adequate, although not as thick as you probably have at home. They do the job, but larger folk may not be too pleased. Only one bath towel issued per person.

Two upholstered chairs plus the desk chair.

Comfortable bed.

Cons:

Four buildings with rooms opening to the outside.

Old fashioned room key had to be manipulated very carefully to open door.

Telephone system was Byzantine involving deposits or holding of credit card, but then most folks have cell phones anyway.

Walls were a bit thin as might be expected in an older property, but there were few guests when we were there (late August, 2012) with plenty of spacing, so we didn't hear the other guests much.

Nice soap in the bathroom, no other amenities.

"Complimentary breakfast" is coffee and doughnuts (until the box is empty). Luckily, there are plenty of restaurants nearby. You can't go wrong at the Methuan Family Restaurant about five miles south right on SR 28.

In conclusion: If you just want something close to the races at Rockingham or if you are really budget minded, this place is OK. Otherwise, I recommend staying up near Manchester at one of several name-brand hotels.

Room Tip: Try the key to see if it works. Inspect before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Col Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This motel was a good choice for the price. 2 Canobie Lake tickets included, wkend night stay, out the door for <$150. It's nice, with the kids, to be able to pull the car up to the room door. The room was clean and spacious.
Could use some updates. Mattresses are old and springy(had to take Advil as soon as woke up), a/c was really tired(had to run at 60 on high to keep almost comfy), tv was like a 16" box, no free wifi, and NO pool.
All in all, I guess I'm just picky, I would stay again if the Hampton inn was full.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Park View inn is a nice clean motel and very reasonable. It is close to many stores and it worked out great for our trip to Canobie Lake Park. The rooms are pretty spacious. Bathroom was spacious too. It was not fancy, but it had what you needed and it was clearn and comfortable. We have been to the area many times and never noticed this motel. It is set back on very nice grounds. I was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: This motel offers smoking rooms, so make sure you specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULRUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwich, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I go to Canobie at least once a year and now I know where I will be staying every time. This place has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in while at a hotel. Spotless, large room, good coffee in room. Really, why pay much more money for other hotels when this place is worth every penny spent. The only things I didn't like was the wi-fi (using a card to access it) and the breakfast (not a hot meal)..neither of these things really matter to me so I will be going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Room was supposedly "non-smoking" but the moment we walked in, we felt like we walked into an ashtray. Even the shower curtain smelled. We planned to stay here 1 night because we came in for an afternoon wedding. When we came back to the room after the wedding, we could not bear to sleep in this room. We packed up our stuff and drove 5 hours to be sleep home instead! When unpacking our stuff, I noticed all of our clothes smelled like the room.

Nice room, nice grounds and nice price, but unfortunately not worth the stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phoebe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

After reading the reviews on TA, we decided to stay here. The property is very clean and tidy, and for being near a busy highway, very quiet. The inn is divided into multiple buildings for more privacy, and there are picnic tables for use. Our room had a king bed, wasclean and spacious. There were two sinks, one inside the bath and one outside,which was great for 2 people getting ready. The bed was very comfy. If I had a complaint it was that the Wi Fi signal was terrible. I kept losing the signal.

A great spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K.C.NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#2 of 4 in Salem
231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Salem (I-93 at exit 2)
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
5.3 mi away
Best Western Merrimack Valley
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Inn Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Inn Inc.

Property: Park View Inn Inc.
Address: 109 S Broadway, Salem, NH 03079-3025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Park View Inn Inc. 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Inn – Salem. Your home away from home is located in the heart of Salem's restaurant/tax free shopping district and directly across from Rockingham Race Track. We offer competitive rates for short or long term stays. Newly renovated guest rooms are nestled amongst our beautifully landscaped grounds. All rooms offer refrigerators, hair dryers, in-room coffee, free HBO, and many have kitchens to accommodate long term stays. Come see why for over 40 years, Park View Inn has been surpassing people's expectations. Located off I-93 at exit 1 directly across from Rockingham Race Track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Park View Inn Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Inn, Inc. Hotel Salem
Park View Hotel Inc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing