We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing indian food”

Kashmir Indian Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 105 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Sequim, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing indian food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

my mother and i eat indian food all the time; its great for type one diabetics. the first night we split the vegetarian korma, plain naan, and rice. we devoured it. we went back the next night; my mother got the vegetarian korma again, i got the malai kofta, and split plain and garlic naan, more rice, and while we were there, we got a chocolate martini. the martini was so smooth and flavorful, and my mom added coconut milk to hers. the malai kofta was the best ive ever had, the sauce was amazingly creamy and rich. prices were reasonable for the taste of the food. cant wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CLBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    45
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great fresh food. Chicken tikka masala is my favorite but I really love everything I have tried. yummm

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank s o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Superior Indian Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I dropped in at this Indian place for lunch while on a shopping trip to Salem. It is better than any of 3-4 Indian places I have tried in metro Boston. It specializes in Kashmiri and other N. Indian dishes.

I was mildly disappointed that they did not offer a buffet this particular day because I like the variety (even though I concede that the food quality on buffetts tends to go down). I was served a complimentary "peppard" crispy bread with onion chutney and tamarind sauce. All was good. For my meal I chose what was described as a Kabuli chickpeas with rice. It was beautifully and fragrantly spiced. I like chickpeas but as the sole ingedient it was a bit too much of a single note. I ordered aloo (potato) parathas but the waitress got the order wrong and brought plain. Still good. Portions were good-sized and prices about what you would expect at similar places in Boston (not cheap).

Service was not very attentive...maybe because it was a holiday. The place is nicely decorated but in full daylight, it clearly needs a renovation and a good cleaning...the baseboards were dirty and broken in spots.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Rahhalatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have had in a long time.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I were recently in Salem, NH and went to Kashmir for lunch. We were excited when we saw that they offered a lunch buffet. They offered lots of vegetarian options. The breads were fresh and there were several chutney's to choose from. Every item we tried was delicious! We had a very nice waiter as well. We will dine here again when we are in the Salem area. The restaurant is nicely decorated and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ricladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere; excellent food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were staying in town at a hotel and found this Indian restaurant on Yelp. We were cordially welcomed and promptly seated. The décor and atmosphere are very nice. My spouse claims not to like Indian food, but I persuaded him to try it. It turned out he really liked the lamb bhuna he ordered. I got a rice dish with lamb, beef and chicken that was excellent. The meals took a little longer to arrive than I had expected, but I believe this is because they make each dish to order. The food was hot, like it had just been prepared. The staff was very efficient and moved quickly to serve the guests in as timely a manner as possible. We were given a complimentary appetizer as new customers and it was delicious; I would have liked to try others. If you like Indian cuisine, or even if you think you may not, you must go to Kashmir. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 513555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashmir Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kashmir Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing