We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok.”

Colosseum Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Colosseum Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 104 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was just ok.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have always wanted to go to this restaurant and had high hopes. But we were let down. The food was just okay. We liked our meals well enough, but werent impressed. Even our desserts were average. The waitstaff was nice and was attentive. The atmosphere of this restaurant was blah. Not at all what I expected for an Italian restaurant. After all the hype we've heard ove the years, we wont be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjocie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    30
    29
    22
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the Same Place!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Sorry to say this, because we used to love this place but, it is not the same. Food is just so-so and service on a recent birthday trip was spotty. Place was empty on a Thursday night and staff was more into chit-chatting amongst themselves. Even the owner, who famously used to walk around saying hello, sat across from us on his computer and never even thanked us for coming in. So, I sense the Colosseum is on its last legs! On to the Tuscan Kitchen!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK yet lackluster”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife had fond memories of this restaurant from over 10 years ago, Our visit tonight was definitely below expectations. Our entrees were ok. The service was slow & unable to be located on multiple occasions. The last & unfortunate occurrence what the desserts looked much better than they tasted. The chocolate cake was dry & the frosting tasted like it was from the food store. The tiramisu was light yet almost tasteless. We are unlikely to return any time soon...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyLNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to the restaurant my whole life, before they were in their current location. I recognize the same staff every time and look forward to great food. Over the last year I have come in 3 times and all were just as disappointing as the next. The food is just ok, service is slow and abrupt almost like your bothering them. The tables at lunch look dirty they need to be refinished. The menus are folded up pieces of paper. What's worse is that two of us were very sick after our last meal. Hate to say it but its off the list. Very sad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kthrmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant has been called the best Italian restaurant in the Boston Area. It's for good reason. Everything is delicious. I have been on business quite a few times. Best of all is the owner's specialty, homemade creamy limoncello. don't leave without trying it. You will come back the next day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colosseum Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colosseum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing