We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but Get There Early”

Maddie's Bagels & Eatery
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food but Get There Early”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great spot for breakfast of lunch (they close around 2pm). Before 7:30 and noon and you will probably get a seat for breakfast and lunch. Anytime after that you risk a wait, with a free coffee. The wait is typically not that long as the restaurant is very efficiently run.
Some folks may feel rushed when it is busy (not from the staff) but from the folks waiting just a stones throw away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulsavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    36
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had an opportunity to try Maddie's yesterday for the first time. Arrived at 10:15 on at Saturday and there were parties of four waiting for tables. Our party of 2 was called in 2 minutes, so we lucked out. Wait was probably 10-15 minutes for a party of 4.

Our waitress came over as soon as we were seated and asked what we would like to drink. When she returned with our coffees, she asked if we were ready to order and we were not. She simply smiled and said let me know when you are ready. She checked back in 5 minutes (when both menus were closed) and we ordered.My friend had a Eggs Benedict with hash. I ordered a Egg White Veggie omelet with home fires and Whole Wheat English Muffin. Order was served in 10 minutes and everything was fantastic. Omelet was hot, FULL of veggies, and cooked just perfectly. Home fries were seasoned and crunchy, as home fries should be. Very nice job. Our waitress checked in a number of times inquiring of food and bringing over refills of coffee for my friend.
When we almost completed with our meals, the manager (or owner) also stopped by and asked how everything was and did we need anything. I expressed my gratitude and complimented our waitress for doing a nice job.

Bill came to $26 + tip, which is high for breakfast. But the food and service was second to none in Merrimack Valley area. Nice job Maddies and I will return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank softballmom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham nh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“go go, you will behappy you did”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

great place for breakfast.
very clean and comfortable.
prices are fine, value is good.
we are close to regulars there

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is one of my favorite places to have breakfast or lunch in NH. I used to work a couple of buildings over and would constantly get there salads (which I'm pretty picky about- there's are great!) and bagel sandwiches a few times a week. Love their food, the space is really cute, but I have never actually eaten there so I can't comment on the waitstaff.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Msowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Food”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

love it, alway fresh food and great service, the breakfast with homemade tea cakes and muffins is the best around...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maddie's Bagels & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing