We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream come true” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunes Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rye Beach B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream come true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The Dunes motor inn is the place to be. Beautiful views, lovely staff, great management. Everyone is very helpful, always smiling. The pool is absolutely gorgeous, water glistening in the sun. I wish it wasn't seasonal, I would come stay year round. If your ever out on the coast of route 1A looking for a place to stay, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addsmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    9
    2
    9
See reviews for
16
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location right across the street from Jenness State Park beach but that's the only good thing about this place. As most of the other reviews say, the rooms are in desperate need of updating. Rooms need new furniture, beds, linens, towels, bathroom fixtures,TV (from this century please), AC, window screens, carpeting, fridge. The shower alternates between scalding and freezing water. The parking lot is over crowded. The floors sag. There are constant clouds of cigarette smoke wherever you are on the property. The wifi comes and goes. Plus it is very overpriced for what little you get. Avoid this place if you want to have a comfortable, pleasant, clean place to stay. I'd never return. Chris T

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank afiabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Afiabelle,

Please know that we welcome your feedback and are very sorry that you experienced a less than perfect vacation experience at our inn.
Your comments have been shared with the owner and we will do our best to address them. We do updates as time and finances allow.....new carpets, paint, new linens are purchased every season, etc.
There is one parking space for each room. Unfortunately, some people bring 2 or 3 cars and don't park in our other parking lot. We do try our best to keep an eye on this.
The WIFI situation has been addressed and hopefully is working properly.
Rest assured, our prices are very competitive with the surrounding area businesses.
We truly hope that you will give us another chance in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rye Beach hotels

Manchester Center, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is dated but that is not the problem. The place is really unsafe. The floor boards feel as if they will let go at any minute and you will go crashing through to the room below. The deck outside the room is even worse. We stayed over the 4th of July and the temps reached 94 and up. The A/C does not work. They are old window units that can barely keep up. I think the reason the decking is so rotted is because each A/C unit drips right onto the deck causing puddles. The location is great, right across from the beach but the motel takes advantage of the location to charge for parking for beach goers when the lot at the state park is full. There is not enough parking for the number of units at the motor inn. Once, when parked on the lawn outside the office (as told to do by the management) we were greeted by an employee setting a sprinkler. He didn't even see us, picked up the sprinkler and as my friend opened the car door, both she and the inside of my car got sprayed. Not a word from the staff member - like oops or sorry. The TV is a Magnavox from 1970 at best and a small model at that. The mini fridge froze our drinks. The wifi connection was intermittent and disconnected at will. Folks are allowed to smoke outside. This drifts up from the floor below while you are trying to sit outside to get a breath of air and hope the A/C will begin to work soon. The sheets were clean as we checked before giving them our credit card since we had read some comments prior to our arrival. The bathroom had no exhaust fan and the window no screen. Active spider web in the corner of the bathroom ceiling. The ear piercing fire alarm went off one night while sitting outside the room trying to escape the heat. It took forever the the fire dept. to arrive. No one came around to say anything - like - it's okay just some smoke from the kitchen set it off. We'd never, ever go back!!! This place should be leveled. No amount of repairs or updating can help it.

Cathy H

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Cathy H,

It truly saddens me to see a review of this nature. We strive to ensure every guest has a positive vacation experience at our inn and it appears that we let you down. Please accept our apologies.
Your comments have been shared with the owner.
I believe your TV was replaced with a new one. We replace them with new ones as needed.
As far as the employee with the sprinkler, he was spoken to about the situation.
We do not have a smoke free property, therefore, people will smoke. And because there is no smoking allowed in the rooms, then they will do it outside. The first floor rooms as well as the inside rooms don't have this problem.
We do have one parking space per room. Unfortunately, some people bring 2 or 3 cars and don't park in our other lot. We try our best to keep an eye on this.
As far as charging for parking when the state lot is full......I would much rather this than to have them all go home because there is no place to park and I'm sure the beach goers appreciate having that place to park.
As for some of your comments, being told about the a/c not working and others, had you let the office know, we could have taken care of the problem as we do have new a/cs to replace those that do not work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monson, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and the kids loved it. Beach right across the street, pool clean and inviting, staff friendly and always available. This motel is NOT fancy, no bells or whistles; and in desperate need of a good interior paint job; however it was quiet and directly across from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Sara D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We appreciate your feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Dunes Motor Inn.The location is great for an ocean view. Nothing fancy but a very friendly staff and clean rooms. We'll stay here again. If you are looking for a place to stay near Hampton Beach but away from the crowd, the Dunes Motor Inn in Rye, NH is the place for you. Great for surfers!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms out front have best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue and Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Sue and Mike M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you were pleased with your experience at the Dunes!!!
We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the Dunes. This was our 8th year and reservations have been made for next year. It is a family place and we see the same guests year after year. It may not be the most updated of places but it is clean and offers everything you need or want. The staff goes over and above to accomodate you. Ever year there are updates and improvements. If you are looking for a safe, relaxing and friendly atmosphere - this is your place.

Carole B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Carol B,

Thank you for writing a review on our behalf. It is a joy to have guests, such as yourself, year after year. We look forward to seeing you for the summer of 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hamster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

....but don't stay here unless you like dirty bathrooms, rooms in disrepair (tubs, tiles, ceiling, carpet, furniture), dead flies everywhere, no dead bolts on the doors, totally indifferent staff, small thin towels, bad smell in rooms, lousy food, elderly swimming pool, etc. Don't bother complaining to the "management" - they don't care - theirs is a captive audience for lovely Jenness Beach across the street. The motel doesn't have to improve - it has no incentive to. Shell out some more $ and at least stay someplace clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aurolingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyeBeach2281, Manager at Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Aurolingus,

The issues you mentioned in your review are all part of your opinion. The only one I would agree with is there are no deadbolts on the door. There are, however, latches that prevent anyone from getting into your room, if you use it. We have a very attentive staff and we do have incentive to improve and do just that every year. The swimming pool may be older, but is repaired and painted every year. Every one is entitled to their opinion and in general they are not as insulting as yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye Beach
5.5 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#5 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
6.1 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motor Inn

Property: Dunes Motor Inn
Address: 2281 Ocean Blvd, Rye Beach, NH 03871-9008
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Rye Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rye Beach
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing