We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The complete package for a reunion of friends”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rye, New Hampshire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan S
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The complete package for a reunion of friends”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Eight of us (senior adults) enjoyed a terrific week at Shangri La. in fact, it exceeded expectations. The large open living/kitchen space meant we could congregate at all times of day. The kitchen was fully equipped-we ate breakfast and lunch or dinner there every day. The bedrooms were comfortable, the bathrooms were modern, and the wi if connection was more than adequate. We loved watching the tides from the patio or from the many windows. It's an easy drive to downtown Portsmouth, to the outlets in Kittery, and to a range of services on Lafayette Road. We would come back in a heartbeat if circumstances permitted. Thank you to Marianne D whose communications were always clear and timely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melissa K
Amherst, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, restful”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our whole experience was delightful. The owner was accessible and prompt with any question I had prior to our stay. There was a bit of a hiccup with timing and we overlapped with the cleaning person who was very personable and accomodating. The house is beautifully designed and decorated and the view of the ocean outstanding. My husband and I had our two daughters with husbands and 3 under 3 children in tow. There was enough bedrooms and ancellery space to sleep and nap all without hassle. The kitchen had every ammenity to satisfy any cook. I brought our Keurig coffeemaker but there was a drip maker that was perfectly acceptable. There was a good selection of reading material and games galore. The 3 min ride to Wallis beach was painless and the house even offered some beach chairs and umbrella and boogie board free for using. We were very comfortable and would love to spend another week next year. We all gave a thumbs up to our perfect week. We only had two negatives. One the Internet service was lacking even though there was a router and the $15 charge per car to get into beach parking. If you have to take three cars because of car seats each day, that's $45 a day for parking, Yikes! But I do have to say that the bath/shower facilities and snack shop at the beach were very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, kitchen, overall space
Liked least: Terrible WiFi service, $$ for parking at beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
836debbie
Chester, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect house and location for us”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

great location! the house was clean, comfortable, spacious. the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked, loved the front porch and chairs! will definitely go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: layout of the floor plan with beautiful water views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieke R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very comfortable cozy house with excellent views. Wish it was mine.
Centrally located for different day trips. Close to shops

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanneart
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, fabulous views”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay in a lovely setting. Be aware that you are expected to pay a $200 cleaning fee over and above the rental fee but also are expected to do the laundry, vacuum and clean the bathrooms before you leave.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2015
Please allow me to clarify. We do have a guest book in the house which asks guests to leave it as they found it. This was formerly our cleaning policy before we began actually renting the house. For greater consistency and more frequent rental uses, we now have an automatic $200 cleaning fee which is sometimes adjusted by arrangement when there are only one or two guests in the house for a short visit. We allow guests to choose whether they would like to bring linens of their own, to clean our linens after use or to pay an additional $50 for our cleaning service to do laundry. I'm sorry if these options are not clear. No one is expected to completely vacuum and clean the house and then pay the cleaning fee. the cleaning costs are exactly what we pay for professional service and we must rely on professionals to prepare for the next renter. I'm sorry for any confusion. By all means, the cleaning service is intended to support you in enjoying your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kontrak20...
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
“Nice rental and location, cleaning fee excessive”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Great rental, very nice for our party of two families meeting up after several years apart on a stopover on our way back to Europe. Beautiful location and well furnished, well stocked, comfortable home with great views and access to nearby Portsmouth. Beachside access is great, but it was January of course! Communication with the owner was sporadic, could be FlipKey (which wouldn't be a suprise given their reputation .....TripAdvisor why do you still partner with these guys?), but nevertheless enquiries by email and phone went unanswered.
Cleaning fee is excessive ($200) for a two day stay, AND when the beds are not made coming in, and only once we get there do we see we are expected (via the write up) to clean all of our sheets, towels, etc and place the linens back on the beds. What exactly did the cleaning fee go to? Fine, we knew the fee going in...and perfectly understandable if it is a week on the beach tracking in mud/sand and saltwater....none of that at -6C....but we did as requested and left it as we found it, swept/wiped down/laundered...maybe a couple of towels left in the dryer?
....and FlipKey....avoid at all costs if you can....unresponsive by phone before the booking and no way to find their email or phone on their website 1-877-354-7539 (save the number...had to find it at the BBB where they get a D-).....one other item would be what has been commented on here in other reviews....the seaside master bedroom has beautiful views, skylight and so forth, but NO window coverings....great, but try sleeping in past sunrise on the east coast...nobody walking the beach in January (except us)...So FlipKey 1 star, Shangri La 3 stars....would be 4+ with a little more transparency in either a refundable cleaning fee or what, exactly, is being cleaned when the beds are not even made coming in...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and common areas/amenities
Liked least: No cable (no big deal, but it was football season!), no curtains for sleeping in, cleaning fee excessive and unwarranted requiring self cleaning
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2015
Thank you for your input on your stay at Shangri La. We rely on professional cleaning services to clean between guests and we charge the rate they charge us. It may not seem like much is needed for a two day stay, but two families using a full house requires a complete clean. We do sometimes make special arrangements for one or two visitors use of the place. Can you imagine us saying to the next guest, 'oh yes there were two families here before you but they really didn't make much of a mess." The house is spotless when you arrive and easy to clean because of the services we employ between guests.

It is true the many windows make it hard to sleep in. Many visitors enjoy this feature of the house most. We will see what we can find for window coverings to support the privacy of guests in the future.

Thanks again for your interest in Shangri La!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing