We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything You're Looking For”
Review of Rye General Store

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rye General Store
Ranked #18 of 21 Restaurants in Rye
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Everything You're Looking For”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great freshly-made sandwiches and wraps, ice cream, munchies. Close to the beach for a last-minute stocking up. Wine and beer, too. T-shirts, toys, etc. Bathrooms for customers only.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the chowder tasted like dish water”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I live and work in the area and I stopped in for a 1/2 sandwich and a cup of chowder. I have never had a more disgusting chowder. it tasted like dish water, with large chunks of potato, and a few pieces of fish. I could not eat it. The sandwich was barely edible. I asked for rye bread and it turned out to be white(take out). It had a big chunk of iceberg lettuce and a sorry piece of ham. They are trying to get a liquor license but it would be better if they simply worked on better food. I will never go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiki547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“under new owner ship”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Awesome,Awesome best food on the beach, went there w/the family ,large variety found something for everyone an thats hard to do....i would definitely would recommend this to others

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank krystal397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good beachside eatery”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

For a seasonal location, this place does a nice job. Food was good and fresh. The service was straight forward and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank duellyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Beach, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Between odd hours in the off season, closed for their vacation, and very little store inventory, luke warm coffee and high pricing--skip it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rye General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing