We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best seafood in the Seacoast”

Petey's Summertime Seafood
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Rye, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is the best seafood in the Seacoast”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Without a doubt this is the best seafood on the seacoast. Their reputation is for their fried foods, but I don't each fried food....so, I can honestly tell you that the broiled seafood is outstanding, too. Terrific, small, but packed bar. Service quick and efficient throughout the building. I am a 'local' so due to the crowds on summer evenings, I am willing to wait for the shoulder and off seasons. That said, if I have out of town guests in the summer they always demand a trip to Petey's and it is always worth the wait. Causal and great Beach Crowd...without the sand.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    173
    58
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“GREAT seafood! Service: not so much...”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Dropped in for lunch while cruising the coast. Petey's is right on coast road next to the ocean: very convenient for a casual/informal lunch or dinner. No ocean views, but close 'nuff to smell the ocean. The ambiance is classic "seafood shack" with a bit extra: wine and beer, multiple rooms with tables/booths, and wait staff rather than order at the window.

We ordered a glass of wine each, my husband got chowder, and we shared a Clam/Scallop plate. The wine was fair. The chowder was full of all SORTS of seafood: fish, shrimp, clams, etc. Very nice! The clams/scallops plate was full, steaming hot and yummy. Of course, there were also a lot of fries (also crisp and hot) and a generous scoop of creamy coleslaw (nice flavor with a tang, not "soupy). The plate was plenty for sharing.

The challenge was the service... We were seated by the hostess (a woman). A different woman took the order. She arrived immediately and first we ordered wine. Then getting her attention to order the meal was a challenge. Once the meal was delivered, finding her again was difficult. No level of check in or attention. When we were done, we tried to flag down ANYBODY to get the check and a little box for the leftovers. The hostess seating people walked right by us ignoring our hand-waving "Excuse me! ahhh... Miss! Excuse me!" We finally got the attention of another waitress who hunted down our server. Once this happened, the bill was delivered quickly.

All in all, the good seafood was worth the visit, but a bit more attention to service would make a difference.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Love That Lobster!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

When ever we are in New Hampshire visiting family we always make sure to visit Petey's. The Lobster is great, as is almost anything on the menu. Never been disappointed! The atmosphere is informal, the ocean is just across the street, adn service has always been great. This time our server was Reggie, and his main goal in life was to make sure we had everything we needed, delivered with a smile! If you are in the Portsmouth NH area, don't miss Petey's!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bergbahnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We recently were staying in Kennebunkport and happened upon Peteys while driving the coast. The people are friendly and the food is really good! I haven't had truly fresh seafood in years so it was nice to have such great food first thing while there. Definitely try the steamers and fried oysters!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCB1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out for a day on the shore!!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great food and plenty for the price. Now, would I say that it is healthy, well that is a subject for another time. Good eating. Good company.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petey's Summertime Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Petey's Summertime Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing