We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster roll!”

Petey's Summertime Seafood
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Neat place off the side of the road. Stopped for lunch and ordered the lobster roll as advertised. It was wonderful. Chunks of lobster, sweet & butter; not much mayo which I liked, on a buttery roll. I could have had two. The only draw back was that it was $17.99 for a hamburger sized roll, rather than a hoagie sized roll which you normally get. I savoured every bit, well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    166
    55
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
“Terrible fried clams”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went out of my way to get there because of the great reviews. Ordered a small side of clams from the take out window. The wait wasn't long and I was so surprised to see how generous the small order was. Got in the car and drove off to find a good spot with an ocean view to enjoy my clams.

So disappointed. The clams were tiny and not intact. It looked as if I had gotten the bottom of a bucket of clam scraps. In the whole order I had only found TWO bellies! This order cost over $18 and it was mostly fried batter, so I headed back to return it. Unfortunately, I was met with a mega traffic jam. People trying to get in and out of the miniscule parking lot, there was no where to park at all. So, I just decided to take off.

I will never eat there again, nor will I recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
243 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“My Petey's!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I love this place!

If its nice (not today, pouring rain) sit upstairs and watch the world go by. Start with chowder and then I get the fried clams whole with bellies. Some of the best I've ever had. Coleslaw is very good and they have a decent wine list. Full bar as well.

Service is very good and quick if you want it that way. I prefer to lair and absorb the vibe.

I guess it could be cheaper, but in the end.. are you really going to remember 4 or 5 bucks or the time you spent enjoying this great authentic New England clam shack?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterisacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The ocean in your mouth!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place seemed like a novelty place to visit while at the seashore, and that it was. It is a must stop for anyone staying or passing through. The food was fresh and delicious. Everything seemed like it was straight out of the ocean. The picnic tables and the ambiance were exactly what we wanted while visiting Hampton Beach!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cull2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too expensive for average seafood on paper plates”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The manager at our over night hotel recommended this place. I would not go back. While the seafood was good, it was over priced for what you got and served in paper plates and bowls. However, the service was friendly. Our bill was just over $ 70 for 2 small cups of chowder, a couple of plates of fried clams with 2 beers and coffee afterwards.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petey's Summertime Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing