We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paul's Carriage House Restaurant

Paul's Carriage House Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Rye
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have been coming to the Carriage House in Rye for eons of time. I say honestly that everything is delicious, served in a timely manner, fresh seafood specials with often half portions as well as full. The fire is cozy every night during the winter. The wait staff is very seasoned with years of experience here. Always a smile on their faces when they welcome your return so warmly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time but won't be the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Went to the Carriage House with a friend last night. I had never been although I live in the area. The restaurant sits directly across the street from the ocean. Great location. Although it is on the beach and it was a Tuesday night, it was consistently busy all night long. We sat at the bar and had wine, they have a nice selection of reds for a small bar. I ordered the chicken and lobster curry combo and it was wonderful, big chunks of chicken and halved lobster tails, also a very large portion. My friend had haddock cooked perfectly, with bright green, crisp broccoli and scalloped potatoes. All in all a wonderful meal, great beachy, old time cottage feel with real timber ceilings and a great ambience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in NH Seacoast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have eaten here for over 20 years and even though we live in Portsmouth which is renown for its amazing restaurants, The Carriage House is the best on the Seacoast. We ate there last night and on Saturday. As others have said, the wait staff have been here for eons and provide warm, professional and great service - every time. But what distinguishes this restaurant from all the others is the incredible food - especially the variety and all the creative ways the seafood is prepared - with tempting specials every night which keeps their menu fresh. The quality is superb and the amount of the fish included in their chowders, pasta dishes and entrees are so generous they are difficult to finish. Additionally their half-portions are great - especially if you start with a salad or appetizer. And I second Steventish who loves the Penne Alla Wodka - I do too - it is incredible and I have to go back every so often just for that!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Beach, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is our go-to place, especially in the off season after the tourists have gone home. An extremely friendly staff and warm atmosphe welcome you when you arrive. Most of whom have worked there for a dozen years or more. The seafood is exceptional, as are the appetizers and signature cocktails served up at the cozy upstairs bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Carriage house is our favorite restaurant in this area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Three words: Penne Alla Wodka. More than you can eat in one sitting which is good because it tastes better the next day. nondescript interior....a little updating would help, but the food is first rate. Not cheap, but definitely worth the experience. Plus, you're supporting a small local business.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steventish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul's Carriage House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paul's Carriage House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing