We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoyt's in Rye NH - Not Recommended”
Review of Hoyt's Lodges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoyt's Lodges
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rye
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hoyt's in Rye NH - Not Recommended”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A cheap place without the cheap price. You are provided 1 kitchen trash bag for a week, and after that you are expected to go shopping and re-use your plastic grocery bags. I thought the owner was joking when he told me this but he was dead serious. Also had to practically negotiate for two more rolls of toilet paper. Multiple light bulbs blown out when we arrived. Quarters are cramped. Owner is a bit odd, with unreasonable requests and expectations. I made a business call at 9:00 on a Wednesday and was "spoken to" because the noise "carries". Yes, because the units are so cramped, it "carried" all of 4 feet to the next cabin. There are much better places with much better owners. Keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christman_29741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Hoyts in set on a great location but the cottages are oddly built . Hosts are on the unfriendly side and have far to many issues with thier rules. There are rules posted every where and they like to keep reminding you. They have dogs but act funny if you want to pet them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Rye beach area seems to have only small, locally owned accommodations - a nice change from chain high rises. After some searching we settled on Hoyt's Lodges. The little cabin had everything we needed and was somewhat of a return to the types of accommodations popular decades ago when I was young on family trips. The ocean breeze blew gently through the screen door and I got the best night's sleep of our trip. It is very close to the Portsmouth attractions, but also a world away. My sunrise run along the ocean and on the trails through the nearby state parks was memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I stayed here for several days (having found them thru the internet) and thoroughly enjoyed my trip. The owners are accomodating, the cabins are spotless and quaint and the proximity to the ocean was just what I was looking for. The kitchen had all the necessary equipment and breakfast on the screened porch just added to my enjoyment. Definitely going back next year for a longer period.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missstormy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Hoyt’s Lodges for three main reasons. First, the proprietors were friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Second, our cabin was clean and thoroughly updated, even if the floor was a bit uneven! Finally, the setting is great, across the road from a rocky beach, just down the road from the sandy Wallis Sands beach, and only a couple of miles out of Portsmouth.

DO NOT confuse this establishment with the similarly named Hoyt’s Cottages up the road in York.

Don’t hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iceworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2004

Having lived in the Rye Beach area for 8 years prior to our move to Massachusetts, it was hard to find an accomodating place to stay where we felt at home again. We have certainly found it with Hoyt's Lodges.
The convenience of the fully applianced cottage also kept our costs low by allowing us to eat in. We are currently a family of 5 and are very comfortable with the size of the cottage (although the oceanview cottage does not have a couch or comfortable place to sit and relax) and 2 bedroom setup. The cottages are just a short walk to the beach, not too bad even when lugging around 3 kids! Certainly worth the trip.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 30, 2003

Beautiful view of the coastline, wonderful people. Had a great time.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rye
1.9 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
203 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
896 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyt's Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyt's Lodges

Property: Hoyt's Lodges
Address: 891 Ocean Blvd, Route 1A, Rye, NH 03870-2826
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Rye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rye
Number of rooms: 340

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing