We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Jewel”

Seacoast Science Center
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located within scenic Odiorne Point State Park, the Seacoast Science Center connects people to the wonders of the ocean through exhibits, programs, touch tanks and unique outdoor experiences. Our live animal exhibits feature the amazing creatures that live in the rapidly changing Gulf of Maine ecosystem, from whales to snails. Our engaging programs make learning about the ocean fun for visitors of all ages. Our hands-on science exhibits, from undersea exploration to marine debris, motivate families to become caretakers of our blue planet. Come visit the Center and also explore the rocky shoreline, sandy beach, saltmarshes and woodlands of Odiorne State Park.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The center is nice but the grounds are incredible. This place went from being on of the original area homesteads, to a war time battery to a science center. Do yourself a favor and check it out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulGuidoboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Putnam, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small, but nice.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The science center is right by the seacoast so the view is amazing. They animals inside are cool and different as well which was nice. There is a touch pool as well. Also I seen a playground outside which is also nice. I don't have children, but for those that do would be nice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank brandy06241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I took my 10 y.o.son here. The indoor exhibits were enjoyable but the best part was walking along the outdoor trails. Bring a picnic lunch and sit at one of the picnic tables and enjoy the view

Helpful?
Thank LauraS1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Small facility but some interesting content on a great setting”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

First, I must address the previous comments about parking because they obviously don't know where they are going. If you look on Google Maps you will see that the Seacoast Science Center is one attraction WITHIN A STATE PARK. It is located within Odiorne Point State Park. The Seacoast Science Center is not "charging you to park." You are paying to get INTO the State Park. It is NOT a parking fee. It is a USER fee. That is why it is PER USER. This is not an uncommon occurrence. You can go to the State Park without going to the Science Center if you wish. That is your choice. But you can't go to the Science Center without entering the State Park.

As far as the Science Center itself, it is very small and I would say we spend a total of an hour there. We spent most of our time out on the rocks at low tide looking at the natural tide pools. That does not require Science Center admission to do. In all, for the low cost of the Science Center it was worth the small amount of time we spent there and to help financially support their mission.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“seacoast”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice place to stop by while in rye Hn. easy to get to on your coastal drive

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank seaman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seacoast Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing