We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Rolls”

Rye Harbor State Park
Ranked #6 of 11 things to do in Rye
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park located on the Atlantic coast.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Rolls”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Beautiful rocky coastline, tons of tidepool fun, along with beautiful beaches make this scenic state park a great destination.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ragtop_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a great place to enjoy the beauty of the NH seacoast. If you don't require sandy beach but love being on the ocean, spend some time at this State Park. Not a lot of parking but plenty of grassy area to spread out and find your spot. Enjoy the jetty and watch the boats go in and out of the Harbor. Bring a picnic, spend the day. Also great place to hold a family reunion or a wedding! Awesome.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank myshorepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great New Hampshire Beach”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a clean, beautiful place to enjoy the ocean!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire Seacoast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful grassy park surrounded by the sea.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Perfect if you don't like sand! About the size of a football field, this flat grassy park is surrounded on 3 sides by Atlantic Ocean. Picnic tables, benches, and restrooms from Memorial Day thru Labor Day (restrooms are locked off season). In season they charge a small entry fee and do not allow dogs. Off season is free and dogs allowed. We often have family picnics there and love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank PinxitGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So surprisingly peaceful.”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Visiting Rye beach on a sunny Saturday summer afternoon though there were plenty of people (to be expected) the beach was still rather peaceful.

We arrived at the beach around 1pm. In my beach experience, by that time you usually cannot find a parking spot and you can't find a place to lay your blanket on the sand. We didn't have any trouble with either. Because it is a New Hampshire State Park, there is a $15 fee to park. I think this is reasonable considering the value you are getting for the money, plus I have paid about the same in populated beach areas in the past, like Old Orchard Beach in Maine and Hampton Beach in New Hampshire.

The water was a little cold, I believe they said 65 degrees for the day, which was a steep contrast to the forecast on the day we went, 95 degrees. A little chilly at first, it was honestly a welcoming cool down. The area also had a small concession stand, convenient restrooms, and lifeguards on duty.

The ride to the area was a spectacle, along the coastal road, 1A, which captured some beautiful views of ocean front properties, coastal cascades of crashing waves, and quaint beach towns.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TourLocalLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rye Harbor State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing