We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Seafood; strictly a family atmosphere”

Windjammers Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of the most excellent seafood restaurants in the area - and there are many. We have a great menu that includes the smaller "Mates" portions and a senior menu that includes a drink and dessert. Our founder Howie Seckendorf always believed that everyone should enjoy going out to eat! Fast and Fresh Take Out available.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood; strictly a family atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

They have good food and it is reasonably priced. Nothing real special but we do eat here several times a year. Service is good. A good all around restaurant. You could do much worse than Windjammers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Love this place once a week. Great atmosphere, great food and the staff is very friendly. My wife loves the clam strips. I always like to try something new, but the chicken renders are always good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Fresh and Very Consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The family that owns Windjammers also owns Granite Steak and Grill. To be in business this long they are obviously doing a great job. Rochester would be at a loss without these two restaurants.
Seafood is terrific and tastes like it was a fresh catch. The restaurant is clean, the staff is knowledgeable and they don't skimp on your meal. They also have the early bird specials for those that want to eat earlier in the evening.
I wouldn't hesitate to bring friends for a meal as I am sure everyone would be happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frequentdiner1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Another trip to Rochester brought us to Windjammers again. The clam chowder was superb and the clam strip dinner really good. Nice a light. Great food, great service....again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buddymav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE PORPOISE
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and light fried food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am not a seafood fan, but I have to say that the menu at Windjammers is varied and has something for everyone. I had the steak tips from the Senior Menu, and they were like butter....very tender and flavorful. My friend and I split Senior Menu orders of the onion rings and fried mushrooms, and they were light and not at all greasy. Both were the best I've had in some time. The Senior Menu is a great deal because it includes a drink and dessert in addition to the entrée. My friend had the scallops, and she had enough to take home for another meal. The service was prompt and friendly. I will be returning to Windjammers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windjammers Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Windjammers Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing