We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can always count on a clean stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Can always count on a clean stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed at the HIE in Rochester multiple times and can always count on a clean room and polite staff. The morning breakfast is simple but gets the day going. For a weekend stay or business, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bball3332, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    54
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
42
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Holiday Inn was very acceptable. It was very quiet despite a lot of people staying at the hotel. I was in a two bed "suite" and it was very large. It had a microwave and a small fridge.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Parking is free.

The breakfast was the normal HIE fare, with hot eggs and bacon and the other non hot items.

All in all it was fine and I would stay there again if I needed to be in that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Websterd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bball3332, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. It is a pleasure to serve all our guests. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Rochester,NH. We were there to visit family. Checking in was smooth and quick. They were very nice. The room was very clean and neat and each day we left to go out, we came back to it just as clean. The pool area was very nice,but did smell heavier than normal of chlorine. It was in my nose! I did go into the hot tub but not the pool. You can't really complain too much about that, you know it's clean! The only bad thing I would have to say about this hotel is that it does have smoking rooms. Even in the hall where all our rooms were suppose to be smoke free, I could smell it! I hate and despise the smell of smoke. We came in one afternoon and a bunch of the maids were smoking outside the side door and another time some other workers and one front door worker were smoking out front. What people don't get is if the maid that smokes is also the one cleaning your room, then guess what? Your going to smell it! I am very sensitive to it. Honestly have to say, my room did not smell of it, even if the hallway did, so thank God for that. Some places will pass off a room that allowed smoking in it and at this hotel, if you smoke in a room not designated for it,you will be charged an extra cleaning fee. In Florida, almost every hotel has become a smoke free environment. Marriott is a company that does not allow it. I hate to say it, but if there was a Marriott in Rochester, I would have to choose that just for that reason. Oh and they DO have one of the best breakfast for a hotel that is free that I have ever seen!!!!

Room Tip: We chose a suite cause we have a 14 and 12 yr old that refuse to share a bed. They actually fought o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmogal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bball3332, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will be soon having less smoking rooms, we do understand the importance of not having them. We hope to see you again in the futre, and so happy that the breakfast was so good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this Holiday Inn Express. It is easy to find, there is plenty of parking, check-in was effortless. The person at the front desk was really personable and helpful. Don't know if it is a new building but it is spotless throughout. We had a king bed
room, there was plenty of space, a desk with chair, an easy chair and small movable table as well as all the usual hotel room furniture. The HVAC was easy to control and the room climate was much more comfortable than we normally experience - either too hot or too cold, or fans are too noisy. In temperate seasons it looks like you can actually open the windows, if you want.
The bathroom was great for us, some may not like that there was just one sink, but that works for us. There was no tub but a tub sized shower which we found bordering on luxurious.
There is an indoor pool and even a hot tub. The pool is kind of small and shallow (5 ft), but it
is just right or relaxing. My wife thought the water temp was bracing, but she soon got used to it.
There is a small fitness room with three rooms right next door. One small downside is if you are not staying on that floor and on that side of the building you will likely need to cut through the lobby to get to the pool, unless you want to take a long walk. The pool towels are pretty small, but the hotel did the nice touch or putting one on every chair and lounge in the pool area. I appreciate this attention to detail.
Now for one of the best features, the hotel offers free hot breakfast every day; eggs plus bacon or sausages, hash or sausage gravy (mmm!), biscuits, toast, cereal, juice and fruit, etc., etc. The room where they serve this is well appointed. Be advised this is not a restaurant, they offer breakfast only as a courtesy to guests. There are a number of restaurants in the area and on the same road (Rte 11) ,where you should be able to find lunch or dinner.
One more thing. When we first arrived it was chilly out, my wife was afraid we may need an extra blanket. I noticed the housekeeping cart down the hall from our room and asked the maid for a blanket, she immediately got me one that was extra thick. Thankfully we didn't need it because of the previously praised HVAC.
If you're going to Rochester, NH I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bball3332, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much the wonderful comments. It is so nice that we could help you and that you found alot of our hotel to be very accomodating. It is an absolute pleasure to serve all our guests. We again thank you very much and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is an excellent example of a well maintained and clean chain hotel. The staff is fantastic and the rooms are nicely sized, well appointed and comfortable. The swimming pool and hot tub area is exceptionally clean and maintained. The breakfast choices are nicely varied , well presented and the dining area is kept very clean and tidy. This hotel is well situated for easy access to the area sights, restaurants, etc yet still sits close to large trees and one can enjoy the fresh smell of the New Hampshire woods. Free internet, free breakfast, nice clean room and a wonderful and professional staff make this a great stay.

Room Tip: The mini suites are excellent and gives you room to work and sit as well as just sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelforfun996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bball3332, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for such wonderful comments, we truely apprecaite everything you said. We hope to provide that same service to you again in the future. Thank you again so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Seems to be our habit on a road trip to arrive in the late evening to hotels...we had a polite check-in and the room was fine, however, food of any kind was unavailable. Breakfast was okay...fruit would have made it more nutritious.

Thank goodness we drove back into Portsmouth where we had the best lunch ever before continuing on with our road trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bball3332, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. Sorry our breakfast wasn't available when you came down in the morning. Our hours are 630am to 930am Monday thru Friday and 700am to 1000am on Saturday and Sunday. Sounds like you had a wonderful lunch.

Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asherwoo4
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Staff great clean rooms.suite was small disappointed that was one room setting area and bedroom not divided. Not great for families. Loved the desk clearness who were helpful and pleasant.
Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asherwoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bball3332, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We do have 2 rooms available in the hotel that have a seperate sleeping area. They are called th Executive Suites. They have a King size bed in the sleeping room, with a pull out sofa and small fridge and microwave.

Thank you again, we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
3.6 mi away
The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
9.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
20.4 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
9.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
Address: 77 Farmington Rd, Rochester, NH 03867-4329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Rochester, New Hampshire Comfort awaits you at our prime Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Rochester near Pease International Airport. This New Hampshire hotel is just 20 miles from the airport and near various attractions and businesses. Families will love staying at our Rochester, NH hotel, located off Route 16, with easy access to several area attractions including the Rochester Opera House, Rochester Fairgrounds. Other nearby sights include Lake Winnipesaukee, Gunstock Ski Area, Meadowbrook US Pavillion, and Sky Dive New England. Business travelers are impressed by the accommodations provided by our hotel in Rochester. Situated in a suburban area at the gateway to New Hampshire's Lakes Region and the White Mountains, the hotel offers close proximity to many local businesses such as Waste Management, Eastern Propane & Oil, Thompson Center Arms and Metrocast Cablevision. Our business services include a fax machine, copier, printer, computer access and free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access. During your New Hampshire visit, you can enjoy amenities that include a heated, indoor swimming pool with an adjoining hot tub, a Fitness Center and our free hot breakfast bar with Smart Roast Coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Rochester hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rochester
Holiday Inn Rochester
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing