We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what I needed it for...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel was clean and pristine. It was right on the road and had access to everything I needed, espcially the Dunkin Donuts in the same parking lot. My room initially smelled like someone had been smoking in it, but once I turned the AC on the smell went away. The only complaint is that the walls were a little thin and you could hear people in the hallway a little too much for my likeling. Staff was very, very, very nice. Pool was small, but really nice. Breakfast was pretty good, too. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcb2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skmcquate, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize for the noise issues and would welcome anyone with a concern to please bring it to our attention so that we may resolve any concerns you may have. I'm thrilled to know that you received the best in customer service and that you found us to be the perfect location for your visit!

Inn Hospitality,
S. McQuate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 164 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

This hotel is a well kept secret, a true hidden gem. Located about 1.5 miles off Rt 16 on Rt 11 W, it is easy to get to just about anywhere, and the staff are more than helpful in providing directions. I have never stayed in a hotel where I was treated like a much loved family member gone missing for years, but that was the atmosphere here. Sandi, Dee, Jodi, Leslie, and every other member of the team are gracious, accomodating, and went beyond the call to make our stay joyful and easy. Spending Christmas in a hotel was a first for our family, and the staff here made it very comfortable, even providing occasional treats for my boys. Breakfast offered a wide variety of hot and cold items, and hot coffee (and water for tea or hot cocoa) were always available in the breakfast room. Crackling fire in the fireplace, constant smiles, and warm greetings each time we went out and returned. Sleeping accomodations were great, and the suite with the mini fridge and small microwave let us eat in when we wanted. Thank you, to each and every one of the amazing staff for making this a memorable Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Very professional and helpful staff. Clean and secure rooms. Great FREE breakfast. We were somewhat discouraged by the other places we had stayed during our vacation. Staying here was like finding a jewel in the midst of rocks!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hotel was GREAT. The rooms were modern, and spacious. I really love the wood paneling that brings out the beauty in the hotel. We had high speed internet, and got the corner room. Woohoo! We had a flat screen tv, king size bed, huge shower and could regulate the room temperature within our room from the thermostat. It also has a jacuzzi and indoor pool that can be shared. The hotel offers a free breakfast (bacon, sausage, eggs, cheese, biscuits, cereal yogurt) This hotel is located across from a diner, and a block away from Walmart and the gas station. It is about 20-30 minutes from downtown Portsmouth. I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meks87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

No surprises at this hotel, but the staff were quite pleasant (I usually find that's the case, thus the average rating), the hotel is clean and new, and the price was not bad for the one night we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on August 8, 2010. The hotel is very well kept and is very clean. We chose this hotel as we were heading back home from Massachusetts and it was on the way. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming. Upon arriving to our room, we realized that we were not given the accommodation that we requested. We called the front desk and someone was upstairs within 2 minutes to apologize and escort us to our new room!

Our room was very nice and clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable and we had no problems sleeping here. There are several restaurants nearby as well as a grocery store if there is anything you are missing.

We would definitely return should we ever find ourselves in this area again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennLa729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

What an experience my wife and I had. Our stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rochester, located in Rochester New Hampshire was the best hotel we have stayed in to this date. Saying that it is the best hotel ever isn't just because of the spacious rooms or the amenities; without the staff the hotel would be just another above average hotel.

From the very first hello with a great big smile, the desk clerks assured us that if there were anything we needed, not to hesitate in asking. Fortunately for us they ment exactly what they said; there were a few things that we needed, so we did ask, and we were provided with what we had asked for, plus we received one of those big smiles we'd gotten upon arrival. Whenever we asked for something, the staff provided it to us cheerfully each time.

The biggest surprise was the "free", all you can eat, nice hot breakfast each morning. The location of this Holiday Inn Express is situated to where stores, gas stations and restaurants are very close by. If there is anything negative to say about this hotel (Of which I doubt), it is that once you put your head down to rest, the bed is so comfortable that you really don't want to get up. Wht a super relaxing night sleep we had gotten each night we were there.

Thank you so much, " Holiday Inn" for having such an excellent team of staff members. My wife and I are truly comitted to staying here again the very next time we find ourselves once again in the area of this hotel or any other "Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites"!!

Sincerely,

John & Cindy McCune

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrmdv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skmcquate, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

What an OUTSTANDING review! It's wonderful to know that you experienced an "above and beyond" stay with our hotel...which is our ultimate goal! Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
3.6 mi away
The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
11.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 6 in Dover
490 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
337 reviews
9.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester

Address: 77 Farmington Rd, Rochester, NH 03867-4329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $105 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Rochester, New Hampshire Comfort awaits you at our prime Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Rochester near Pease International Airport. This New Hampshire hotel is just 20 miles from the airport and near various attractions and businesses. Families will love staying at our Rochester, NH hotel, located off Route 16, with easy access to several area attractions including the Rochester Opera House, Rochester Fairgrounds. Other nearby sights include Lake Winnipesaukee, Gunstock Ski Area, Meadowbrook US Pavillion, and Sky Dive New England. Business travelers are impressed by the accommodations provided by our hotel in Rochester. Situated in a suburban area at the gateway to New Hampshire's Lakes Region and the White Mountains, the hotel offers close proximity to many local businesses such as Waste Management, Eastern Propane & Oil, Thompson Center Arms and Metrocast Cablevision. Our business services include a fax machine, copier, printer, computer access and free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access. During your New Hampshire visit, you can enjoy amenities that include a heated, indoor swimming pool with an adjoining hot tub, a Fitness Center and our free hot breakfast bar with Smart Roast Coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Book your reservations now to take advantage of our great Rochester hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rochester
Holiday Inn Rochester
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing