We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else”
Review of The Governor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Governor's Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Rochester B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The service was rude. Just thinking about my experience upsets me. Management did not help when the reservation was mixed up. In fact, the response to the mixed up room problem was met by various excuses in a very condescending tone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman E, Manager at The Governor's Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We really pride ourselves on superior guest service, so we were very surprised to hear of a reservation mixup and your dissatisfaction.
We've been keeping guests very happy for over 21 years and take any dissatisfaction to heart. We would love to learn more from you about what happened and when so we can take very positive measures to always ensure complete guest satisfaction - so please get in touch with me, or let me know what is the most convenient way to reach you. Thank you so much,
Herman
The Governor's Inn
603-332-0107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
27
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We held our daughters wedding Rehearsal, and wedding at the Governors inn. The planning went great and Lisa was great to work with as a coordinator and easily accesible via email which is the best way for me to be able to work out details. We had our Wedding rehersal dinner there for about 30 and the food and drinks and service was so good that I worried it would be better than the wedding! My daughter the bride, her maid of honor and myself stayed over night after the rehearsal. The room was nice and quaint. The wedding exceeded our expectations. The food was the best food i've ever had at a wedding. Shane the Bartender was so great. The only issue was a table at the reception got their food very late after most had already eaten. I think it was a mistake. We rented out the inn for that night and after the wedding ordered take out and used the sitting area by the pub to continue our festivites. Everyone had a great time and we had our daughters baby shower there in late January with just as much wonderful service and food. I would highly recomend the Governors Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had booked a room in the Governor's Inn, because of the positive reviews in Trip advisor. Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious and clean. The furniture remembered of past times, but this is to be expected in a traditional inn like this. We enjoyed our stay.
We had evening dinner in the hotel’s restaurant and ordered macaroni & cheese with a chicken topping and garlic bread. How could we know that this was one of the cook’s favorites: all was freshly made with a variety of excellent ingredients. It was very tasty. We enjoyed it, but were only able to eat half of it. The waitress confirmed that hardly ever a person could finish the plate because of the most generous portion. The breakfast was a kind of "continental plus" and all was fresh and tasty. We think that we really have had value for money in the Governor's Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AES132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Inn over Columbus Day weekend. Our room was #224 which had a tricky lock which was difficult to lock (we informed the owners). Hopefully, this problem is resolved. Otherwise, we found the inn to be exactly what we were looking for....something personal, old, and not commercial. The breakfast was as described...continental but fulfilling. We found the historical information about the inn made it a interesting place to stay. We could see it as a great place to have a destination reunion or wedding.

Room Tip: Room 224 had a small shower stall and king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTinkerbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Governor's Inn is a quaint, lovely looking property that, on the inside, shows a little bit of wear and tear. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly...the restaurant has high quality food, although the live entertainment on the night we ate there was pretty painful. You're right in the downtown (such as it is), but feel secluded, so you've got the best of both worlds. It's a great base of operations for exploring the area.

We had a somewhat atypical experience, perhaps, as the Inn was hosting a major even that night, so things were loud and crowded and it was hard to sleep due to all the commotion. The room also got quite stuffy in the summer.

Still, you don't have many options out in this neck of the woods, and this struck us as the best. Again, the phenomenal staff make up for a lot of the shortcomings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This fine establishment reflects the true traditions of an Inn: An establishment that will feed, wine and water the weary and sore footed and pack them off to a comfortable room and bed with a warm heart and a full belly.

Upon arriving at Governors Inn and Restaurant, I was met by Robin, the Restaurant Manager and who I perceive to be General Manager. She checked me in efficiently, courteously and, as some one who travels a great deal I appreciate this the most; a human rather than a credit line on a corporate spreadsheet that is the norm in most of my traveling experience.

Being one of the hottest days of the year, after moving into my comfortable room (queen bed with fully functioning free internet) I turned on the small but adequate air conditioner and retired to the bar for a refreshing ale. There I met Shane, the bartender, who was welcoming and friendly and plied me with a cleansing IPA out of the tap.

Later, I stopped for dinner. The comfortable, casual, pub ambiance was complemented with an excellent menu of interesting advertisers, seafood, various meat and vegetarian dishes and salads. I'd estimate the average entree to be aroudn $18. I chose the Seafood Gratine. The service was prompt and professional. The food just excellent. I know by this point I'm raving but it really was excellent. I travel all the time and eat out (by necessity, not choice) as much as I eat in. This dish was memorable.

I was here midweek so there was no live entertainment but Shane told me that from Thursday through Sunday they support live music. There is a pleasant beer garden outback which I assume is in use when they have music.

At the risk of booring any readers and loosing credibility I'll leave off here but I'm really glad to know such an establishment still exists in the USA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I attended a recent corporate meeting and was pleasantly surprised at the classic New England architecture of the building and beautiful grounds. Unfortunately there were some issues. None of the door stalls in the ladies room closed or locked. The internet connection gave only two bars, so if you have to still conduct business you won't be able to there. The projection screen hung crookedly. The whole point of using a projection screen is that it maximizes image brightness. Unfortunately it showed the PPT slides as very dark, even though the laptops were set to the brightest setting possible. Also, the entrance to the parking lot was one way which is fine, but there was no signage for exiting the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieRivero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage Inn - Rochester
7.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dover
Hampton Inn Dover
#1 of 6 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
7.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dover
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's Inn

Property: The Governor's Inn
Address: 78 Wakefield Street, Rochester, NH 03867-1921
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Rochester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Governor's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing