We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Find on our Way Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hometown Diner

Hometown Diner
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Rindge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Find on our Way Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are fans of diners and diner food and were looking for a place to have dinner on our way home from vacationing in Vermont. I noticed this diner and thought we should stop in and give it a try.
We were warmly greeted by the owner Bonnie and then sat down at a booth. We looked over the menu and when it seemed we had been waiting a bit, Bonnie came over and asked if our order had been taken. When I told her it hadn't, our server came over immediately and apologized for the delay as she was checking someone out.
I ordered the haddock sandwich and my husband ordered the meatloaf. The fish was delicious--batter not heavy at all so all the flavor of the fish came through. The fries were hot! My husband said the meatloaf had a different flavor as it was heated up on the grill. He finished his plate but mine was "bigger than I am" as he likes to say.
Just a bit disappointed that the only dessert items were ice cream. Usually diners have pies and cakes and the like so we found dessert elsewhere.
Our server was very talkative and friendly with a woman who came in with her three children which I thought was a nice touch. We would stop by here again if we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieJoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rindge, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Gluten Free People, Great overall!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Few if not really any restaurants serve a variety of gluten free meals. Most will only give you one or two options. The Hometown diner serves a wide variety of gluten free meals, from toast to french toast, to pancakes to omelets. The only downfall is that the french toast isn't texas toast, but the first time I got the french toast, they gave me twice a s much to make up for it. I guess it depends who your server is. Also the price is the same for all gluten free substitutes!

I give it 4 stars because the service is relatively slow. Just keep bugging them until they do what you ask, but thats usually how it is at diners anyway. They are also relatively new, so just practice some mercy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchendon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Menu is adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited the restaurant soon after it opened. There was a waiting line to enter. The menu was breakfast and lunch items. Unfortunately, most of the food on the menu had salt in it, so it only allowed us to choose one item, a hamburger. The hamburger was good size and tasty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coral G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best new diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hometown diner on rt. 119 and rt. 202 in Rindge, NH has my vote for a great new diner recently opened last fall. The prices are reasonable, great portions, easy to get too! Nice drive up route 119 for breakfast or lunch opening for dinner in April, it's what diner food should be, plus there is plenty of parking. Try it this weekend for a good meal !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hammer182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food not so good service ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Service- got seated very quickly. No refills offered. Bill came slowly

Food- coffee tasted like water...French toast was good...sausage and gravy was good...hash was good..

Atmosphere - very diner like..great atmosphere..


Helpful?
1 Thank corymash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hometown Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing