We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a Courtyard, but got bug bites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Portsmouth
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We stayed at this Courtyard last month as part of a Marriott promotion giving us a free night. The hotel itself is nicer than most Courtyards I've been to. It has a full-service restaurant and bar in the lobby and you can get free coffee and tea 24 hours a day.

Our room was clean and comfortable, no complaints there, but when I woke up in the morning I had huge red welts all over my leg--and they were itchy. I showed them to my sister, who is a nurse, a few days after we got home and she said they looked like they were from bed bugs! It took about 3 weeks for the bites to heal!

I am still kind of grossed out about the whole thing. No matter where you stay, be sure to check the mattress before getting into the bed!

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank emilienoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 282 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2006

I was impressed. The dining area and foyer were nicer than I expected, it seems more than just a budget marriott because they have rooms for special functions. The room was very clean, elevator was quick. Breakfast is NOT included though, which I usually expect in a Marriott chain.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvvlngkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
344
Reviewed March 14, 2006

I just came back from business trip and stayed at Courtyard Marriott for 5 days. Actually this is 3rd times I stayed with this hotel.

First 2 times were decent stays. Stuff are friendly and helpful. I asked for a free toothpaste/toothbrush. Had a king size suite, no fridge. Bed is comfy. Shower room is up to date, clean and working okay. Free Newsday every morning. Free coffee/tea 24hr at lobby. Gym room is small, about 4 machines. Jaccuzzi is nice. Pool is a little bit cold but its clean with towels provided.

However I had some problems with my 3rd stay. First my room was on 4th, which is so close to the highway I95. Very annoying and noisy. You can hear the trucks plowing on I-95. I have to turn on the heat to cancel out the noise. Worst of all, the door won't lock on the 3rd night. In the morning it was fine, but after I came back from work I can't lock it. It must have been not working after the maid cleaned up my room. Luckily my belongings stayed.

The manager immediately move me to another room. But it was a smoking room. So I was moved again, but to a two twin size bed room. Do I need 2 beds just for me?

So, when you checked in, request room off highway. Stay away from breakfast not because the food is bad, but it was expensive. $10 for breakfast, give me a break.

This hotel is pricy compare to Hampton Inn, which has free breakfast.

Overall, average hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

The staff was very good. The onsite restaurant was OK, but the service was slow.

The beds are extremely uncomfortable! They are hard and during our two-night stay we woke-up with backache both mornings. Although, Marriott noted that they are in the process of updating there bedding –

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-swindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NJ
210
Reviewed June 4, 2005

I stayed at the Courtyard for business, however I traveled with my husband and young child. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable - the requested crib was in the room and the refrigerator was very convenient. The heated pool and whirlpool were enjoyable and clean. The location was close to downtown and the room was clean and spacious. The king sized bed was comfortable. The only thing that would have made the stay better would be a free breakfast, even continental fare.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2005

I usually stay in a Fairfield Inn on travel, but the Fairfield Inn Portsmouth got such bad reviews in TripAdvisor I wasn't going to go near that place. I was a little reluctant to give Marriott more business (and more money) by upgrading to the Courtyard, but after a pretty careful search of the available options, this one seemed to be the best.

Things to appreciate about this hotel:
Friendly front desk staff
True king size bed
Quiet (although you may want to make sure you're not facing the highway)
Fridge in room
High speed internet access

Things which could be better:
No free breakfast
Price
Carpet seemed a little tired -- could use new carpet in rooms

Overall, it was a fine hotel and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biztravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed October 23, 2004

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend. Hotel was overpriced and was dirty. There were crumbs in the bed and bugs in the room. We checked out after being there an hour. The front desk refused to send someone to our room to clean and they were rude.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portsmouth

Address: 1000 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $93 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended hotel in historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Courtyard
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing