We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, no view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Portsmouth
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Exactly what you expect from a Marriott. Slightly higher room fees than other similar hotels in the area. No view, little noisy as it is right off the highway. Free parking! Pool small, restroom in the pool area was less than clean. All other areas spotless, nice 24 hr gym. Something in the cupboard made an incessant ticking noise, couldn't locate the source, not the fridge, microwave, coffe pot. Very strange, but not too bothersome. Staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't eat breakfast there, so much to see and do in Portsmouth. Beds were fine, no difficulty sleeping. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 278 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

There was a bit of confusion when we booked as we wanted a king suite for 2 nights. We didn't get a king suite but did get a king room but we were charged for a king suite. Very friendly staff altered our booking without any fuss and credited my account.

Drinks the previous evening was also an unexpected surprise - there were no nibbles on the menu nor were any available - the bar attendant went out of his way to make us a little nibble - this was indeed very good service.

Although a bit out of town, we would recommend it and certainly stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: make sure you double check what room you have been allocated before you go past the reception desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed here before and it is still a good choice for a moderate hotel . All of the expected Marriott amenities are here. There is a nice pool. The rooms have a refrigerator and coffee machine. flat screen TV and comfortable clean rooms. There is a nice bar and breakfast area on the main floor. A Starbucks is also next to the bar for coffee and. The rooms can be noisy since the hotel is next to the highway. Keep the slider closed and problem solved. The hotel staff is helpful and courteous. Free parking is a plus. A good bet in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARJACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am headed to this hotel for the 3rd year in a row this weekend. I stay there when I do an MS walk. It is a mile from beautiful downtown. Great highway access and the price is very reasonable. Rooms are average, but staff and bar area are great. This is not the place to stay if you desire a nice view from your window! Parking lot and highway are it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmae64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Moderate sized room just outside Portsmouth. Clean bathroom but water could have been hotter. Comfy double beds. Nice amenities: fridge, microwave, safe in room. Mew HD TV and free Wi-Fi. Modern looking lobby with full bar. Wish they had a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

recenlty stay on a trip to the portsmouth area

as this was my first time at this hotel ,having stayed at numerous other ones in the areas

would definitely come back

very friendly staff,hotel was very attractive and the room was great

it certainly looked like the rooms were well cared for and housekeeping was on its toes

need an extra blanket and asked and was there shortly

couretous staff

close to town,mall and 95 very convienent

would stay again no problem

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kga651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I wanted to make sure my girl friends 21 first birthday was special i got 10 of our freinds together and we came up with the idea to stay at this hotel because of the bar and because they have a great pool and hotutb. But I asked sense it was her birthday if we could get a suit upgrade they said first we are not busy so most likely called again the morning of the event and still not busy but said we could not have it. I looked online they had 2 they could sell. I asked for a room next to our room they told me the wrong price. I called marriott to fix all this and told them my story. They got me a free upgrade by going to the hr manager who was very nice and understood and said sorry. Made me feel alot better. We had a great time and she loved her birthday. There front desk team needs tounderstand guest need and dont be rude when i call more then once to confirm stuff. One girl was very rude at the front desk. But i would come back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portsmouth

Address: 1000 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $98 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended hotel in historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Courtyard
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing