We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Portsmouth
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Great Staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Two-night stay over holiday weekend. Market Street's a very convenient location with easy access to I-95 & US1-Bypass. Quick drive to downtown Portsmouth for bars & restaurants, tax-free shopping at the nearby New Hampshire malls/stripmalls & outlet shopping in Kittery. Super-friendly staff. Request the back of the hotel -- the front parallels the highway. Everything in the room was clean and everything worked. Good to have mini-microwave and larger-than-normal minifridge. Thru-the-wall hvac unit was pretty noisy, but we kept it on to drown-out the highway noise. Bar & restaurant in lobby (we didn't use but saw a good crowd there at each day's end). Indoor pool was clean and cool and whirlpool was hot. Nice outdoor sunning/relaxation area just off the enclosed pool.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoOneWillAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    103
    58
    29
    10
See reviews for
68
84
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had stayed here a couple years ago and decided to return for a night. The hotel is located in a heavily wooded and green area, which is certainly a plus. The staff is welcoming and helpful. Our room was quite clean and comfortable, but overall we thought it was time for the hotel to be updated. The vanity is very small and we found it very difficult to find adequate space for our toiletries. The Courtyard is conveniently located.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaSuziC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here this weekend and it was very comfortable, clean, and staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was okay but would probably go elsewhere if we go here again.
We were about 5 mins from downtown Portsmouth. It was very close to kittery outlets. All in all, a nice place to stay. The pool looked very nice and was a good size. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macerata, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Old fashionable hotel, close to the highway and few distance from Portsmouth. Kind people at the reception and at the bar. tooms and lobby are clean but old style and not renovated. Poor Breakfast, fresh fruit not so fresh...
Price 150 usd + breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BR
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel is in a nice location, but becomes exceptional because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. It's only downside is that you cannot eat there every day of the week. The gym could do with having a set of scales, but everything else is good in the leisure area. The rooms are fine and functional, and contain everything you need. The food for breakfast offers a good selection, and the evening meals are pleasant. The bar and bar staff are very friendly and accomodating. Definitely will be my first choice evry time I'm staying in Portsmouth, NH.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatbox4544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Courtyard in Portsmouth is located just off of I-95 and just south of the Maine/New Hampshire border. Downtown Portsmouth is 5-10 minutes away. The University of New Hampshire is a 15-20 minute drive. The hotel lobby has been updated and the facilities are good. I was a bit disappointed by the cleaning service in the rooms. I was there for 2 nights and when I returned to the room after the first night the bed was half made and the trash wasn't empty. The towels had been cleaned up. It didn't affect the overall stay, which was comfortable.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the backside of the hotel to avoid noise from I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFergUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed over a weekend. The room was very comfortable,the room service was fast, the food was good and priced right, the pool area was clean and the spa was just the right temperature. The staff was friendly and efficient. A very good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebord90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portsmouth

Property: Courtyard Portsmouth
Address: 1000 Market St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended hotel in historic Portsmouth, New Hampshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Courtyard
Portsmouth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing