We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff only added to the quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great location - great room - great staff! Because its not in the middle of downtown the parking is easy and the noise level is minimal. Easy to get to from 95 and easy to walk to all shops and restaurants

Room Tip: Location is terrific and yet quiet - not on the main drag. Rooms are perfect (and LEED certified...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We made reservations a month in advance. We had our dogs with us. We arrived after 12 hours of driving only to be told they had no more rooms. We were sent to a Courtyard Marriott 5 miles away. Guess what? They do not accept pets.
How do you over book a month in advance?
This put a glitch in our trip. Created unnecessary stress.
Ultimately, Marriott made it right. We do appreciate that. But my heart is still pounding from the stress. I do want to add that the Courtyard Marriott where we were RE ROUTED was very kind to us. We weretold we could not stay as they do not accept pets. But after reviewing our situation the front desk personal at Courtyard saved the day for us.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank ScottyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We are loyal members of the Marriott Reward program and usually stay at some form of a Marriott Hotel wherever we travel to. Our visit to Portsmouth brought us to the Residence Inn where were were told there were only 2 rooms left when we arrived at 5:00 pm. The first we were given had a very noisy air conditioner and the trash basket in the kitchen had not been emptied so we moved to the other available room. Upon entering this room we were met with a strong odor of cigarette smoke. When we phoned the front desk we were told that even though the hotel has a "no smoking" policy sometimes people still smoke in the rooms. Since they did not have another room for us they said they would come and spray a deodorant in the room and bring in a machine that will soak up odors. We got through the night, but will not return to this hotel. This one is definitely a blemish to the Marriott chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family of five stayed here 3 nights and were very happy. We chose it because we were able to get a 2 bedroom suite using points and a minimal cash upgrade - other Marriotts rewards users might know, this is pretty rare. The room was perfect, 2 king beds each with an en-suite bathroom, plus a living/kitchen combo with pull out couch in the middle. This provides a lot of privacy and comfort for sleeping and dressing. The room was in good condition though the bathrooms are a bit dated. This property has very good common facilities - a better than average fitness center and pool, both of which we used multiple times. The pool is large and clean and at a refreshing temperature, and there is a well maintained hot tub too. The breakfast room has been updated with fresh furnishings and carpeting, and they have plenty of choices at the buffet. The rest of the hotel hallways etc could use the same carpet and also wallpaper updates, maybe that will be coming soon. When we asked they also provided a DVD player, and the staff has been gracious at every turn. We were also satisfied with the location. While it would be better to invest in a room downtown if you are concentrating your time in Portsmouth, this hotel offers easy highway access to get elsewhere in the seacoast. It was also easy to get into town and park there. Also don't miss the Red Hook brewery and brewpub literally next door. There are also big shopping plazas less than ½ mile away which came in handy.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

On *International Drive* by Pease airport -- away from downtown. (Not to be confused with newer "Portsmouth Residence Inn (RI) Downtown/ Waterfront" on *Deer Street* in heart of historic downtown Portsmouth.)

Smaller, 3-story RI (under 90 suites):

• Older, well-worn RI with newer burgundy room furnishings/ décor.

• Spacious corner studio suite with oven; amazing morning sunlight through 2 windows.

• One-bedrooms didn't seem as spacious as studios or 1-bdrms at other RIs.

• Top-floor hallway overheated in winter; locked hall thermostats consistently read over 72 degrees. (Had to run a/c in room to achieve habitable temperature.)

• Chronically sub-standard RI breakfasts (hot & cold items) & dinners served in gatehouse. (Always hope for healthier options & more variety -- particularly for longer stays or repeat visits: Greek yogurt, whole grain breads, & greater assortment of fresh fruit.) Free beer (from neighboring Redhook Brewery) on tap for dinners.

• Well-worn washers (2)/ dryers (4) in 2nd-floor guest laundry due for update. (If you hear only faint trickle of water as washer begins to fill with water, open water valves behind washer; happened several times. (Don’t know why valves turned down.) “Out of Service” sign periodically on (& off) one dryer.

• Only 2 (or 3) luggage trolleys/carts at back of RI (by elevator). (If trolleys are not there, scour 3 floors of hallways to hunt down.)

• Had to request shower curtain liner be replaced; *obviously* filthy but bypassed housekeeping’s notice.

• Small exercise room with older, creaky equipment.


Niceties:

• Free internet/WiFi.

• Free on-site self-parking.

• Computer/printer nook (behind lobby/ gatehouse) to print documents & boarding passes.

• For evenings when food isn’t served at RI, 2 options a few steps away: Redhook Brewery, Paddy's American Grille.


Approximate Drive Times (Distance) to Downtown & Airports:

• 15 min. (4 miles (6.4 km)) to downtown Portsmouth/ Waterfront.

• 5 min. (1.5 miles (2.4 km)) to Portsmouth International Airport at Pease (PSM). Free RI shuttle on request; must call.

• 1 hour (50 miles (80 km)) to Manchester Boston Regional Airport (MHT).

• 1+ hour (60 miles (97 km)) to Boston Logan International Airport (BOS).

------------------
No longer stay at this RI after discovering far superior accommodations at newer Downtown/ Waterfront RI.

Perhaps if this RI were *completely* refurbished: rooms, breakfasts meals, dinners, laundry room, exercise room, and so on; it might be able to compete with Downtown RI & lure back long-time, repeat guests.

Currently, only advantages to International Drive RI (over Downtown RI):
• Save $ on rooms.
• Save $12 daily parking.
• *Don’t* need/want to be in heart of historic downtown by waterfront.

A once fair to middling RI on decline.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

There are some really dedicated people working at this Rez Inn. They are ALL cordial and welcoming. The rooms have been updated in the new Rez Inn colors and styles. That's all good but I got the impression that ownership is probably counting the pennies -- examples: very thin toilet paper, "bare bones" amounts of food at the breakfasts and the evening social hours, tired looking carpet in some of the public areas, not enough vacuum cleaners for housekeeping. The last item is the gentle way of saying, "Every carpet we saw needs a good vacuuming."
However, if you are looking for a nice place in a convenient business location staffed by people who are delighted to have you in their hotel, don't pass it up. Unless of course, you -- like we -- are worried about dogs taking over all Rez Inns but that's another subject entirely.

Room Tip: Higher up seems to be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here on a recent one night 'getaway' to Portsmouth. Located next door to the Red Hook Brewery - great beer. Had some trouble figuring out the entrance door but finally found it. Staff was very pleasant. Decided on a quick dip before heading into Portsmouth. Pool was refreshing but the hot tub was way too hot. Saw someone from maintenance who quickly checked it out and added cold water and adjusted the temperature. The room was a good size, clean and quiet. Breakfast was basic but good choices. Would stay here again if in the area.
Close to downtown, malls, major highways but in a quiet safe area

Room Tip: Ask for higher back rooms with good view of grassy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth

Address: 1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $165 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth, a top choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH. We provide travelers with what they need for a comfortable stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, including cozy guest suites and a great central location. Our hotel sits near some of the most popular attractions in Portsmouth including Portsmouth Naval Shipyard and Pease Air Force Base. We are also close to Frank Jones Center, which makes us a great choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH for business travelers. Our hotel offers a free shuttle to and free the airport and we provide grocery shopping service, so you can have the food you need to make meals in your suite. Stay with us for long and short term trips to Portsmouth, New Hampshire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing