We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request a room away from the elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed one night with our granddaughter. Nice clean room. The elevator was very noisy when we were trying to sleep. We also got a wake-up call at 6:00 a.m. that we didn't ask for.
Our granddaughter(7) was up at 6:10 getting dressed and ready to go! Other wise it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robmac463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 179 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

We love visiting the Portsmouth NH and Kittery ME areas. This was our first time staying at the Marriott Residence Inn here. It's located right next door to the Red Hook Brewery and a very short drive to Fox Run Mall. Breakfast is included in your stay (waffles, pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, plus the usual continental breakfast items). They even had a soda dispenser for breakfast (for all of you who want your coke/diet coke in the morning).
Our room was spotless and spacious. We stayed in a one king bed suite. They offer two HBO channels and the bathroom sinks are located outside of the bathroom.
Inside heated pool and hot tub.
Staff was very friendly!
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Great stay in a nice, newly updated room. Nice bedroom off of living room/kitchen area. Nice large bath off of bedroom. Only thing that we found was the new smelling rug had dog hair on it appearing that it didn't get a thorough vacuuming. It wasn't something that jumped right out at you, but with a couple of four year olds, we noticed it soon. The hotel was nice and the staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was nice compared to many included breakfasts. The pool was refreshing. No hot tub. The workout room was useful, but not huge. Great location. Walked down around all of the historic buildings and the water. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dylanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My son had a swim meet in Portsmouth, so traveled there with my son and his grandparents. We thought that the suite concept would work great, problem was that the pullout couch although brand new was really, really UNCOMFORTABLE!!! We woke up numerous times, and were stiff as a dog in the morning. There was no comforter for the sofa, only a thin blanket. There was a lot of street noise also.

The staff were very nice, thoughtful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingergirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The Residence Inn.. We spent three nights with the most obliging , aim to please , staff and management. All made our 25 anniversary very memorable. Very classy and affordable hotel. Thank you for everything front desk!
Fred and Trudy
Live Life Out Loud !

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at this Marriott for two nights with our three young children (under 3) in a suite with a King bed and pull-out couch. The room was large and comfortable, with clean, tasteful and almost trendy decor. Each morning we had a buffet breakfast, and each evening there was a "Manager's Reception" (one night it was salad and grilled chicken, the other night we had stir fry and rice). This was plenty of dinner for our family, and much more kid-friendly than having to go to an actual restaurant. The kitchen was very clean and functional, with stainless steel appliances and granite counters. The staff was very friendly and understanding of our children (even offering to bring some fresh-baked cookies up to our room). I think they put all of the families together in one wing so that we did not disturb the business travelers, as there seemed to be a lot of kids on our floor. We loved it, and would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Residence Inn PortsMouth is a fantastic place to stay for Business and Leisure purpose.

Excellent spacious rooms with all amenities available. Room Service and Guest Service is very good.

Housekeeping service understands requirements of guests and are very kind. Front Desk is equally good.

Good location as well. Quick access to PortsMouth and Kittery Malls.

Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coolind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth

Address: 1 International Dr, Portsmouth, NH 03801-6809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $136 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth, a top choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH. We provide travelers with what they need for a comfortable stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, including cozy guest suites and a great central location. Our hotel sits near some of the most popular attractions in Portsmouth including Portsmouth Naval Shipyard and Pease Air Force Base. We are also close to Frank Jones Center, which makes us a great choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH for business travelers. Our hotel offers a free shuttle to and free the airport and we provide grocery shopping service, so you can have the food you need to make meals in your suite. Stay with us for long and short term trips to Portsmouth, New Hampshire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing