We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brazo - CLOSED

Brazo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: State Street
Description: What if Portsmouth had a fling with a Latin lover? What if mojo filled the streets, steaming with the heat of Cuban, Spanish and, Latin music. What if you could drink a caipirinha on a Tuesday night? Or enjoy our fish taco Fridays.Welcome to Brazo where the flavors of Latin and South America are completely at home in northern reaches. Its everything an exotic journey should be right in downtown Portsmouth. Viva Brazo!
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We selected this restaurant from Trip Advisor ranked list of Portsmouth restaurants (and then looking at the menu of the ones that sounded best) and we are glad we did. Very good food -- my salmon was delicious and a generous portion. I would definitely go back the next time I am in Portsmouth.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corinne173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    48
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere, limited but tasty menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We very much enjoyed our meal here, though I'd say my rib eye (which was done perfectly and very flavorful) was a better choice than my husband's fish, which was a bit bland. The side dish of sweet potatoes gratin was A+. The menu is not large with a surprising amount of fish on it and not as much meat as one might expect. I thought the guacamole appetizer could have been a bit more generous, but the main portions were perfectly sized. (I took half the rib eye home.) The mint martini in place of dessert was truly delicious. As others have noted, very nice wait staff. When we go again, I will ask for one of the round booths as they are fun, but none of the seating is bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cslnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I've lived on the seacoast for four years and have never been to Brazo, despite hearing how great it was. Service staff were friendly, attentive and had great recommendations. I had the duck, my date had the paella. We split a mushroom salad for an app. Everything was delicious, portions were perfect (not like ome more "gourmet" restaurants where they give you a small amount of food). I cleaned my plate! It was definitely one of the best meals I've had in a long time. I can't wait to go back with my friends and family!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Portsmouth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Brazo is a wonderful restaurant with an eclectic, delicious menu. Not for fans of the bland and boring! A few of our favorite things:

The space is nice without being flashy. Beautiful decor & great atmosphere. It's a place I've gone wearing a dress and also jeans and a sweater - on the upscale side of things but not stuffy.

The staff are WONDERFUL. We love going in and seeing familiar, smiling faces!

The menu is DELICIOUS. South-American done really well, and the drinks are fantastic.

This is my husband's and my favorite restaurant in Portsmouth. Make a reservation just in case (especially on a weekend evening) - and if you're in town for Restaurant Week, their price fixe menus are always impressive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Enjoyed the cocktails, food and the atmosphere. It's a small place in the heart of Portsmouth NH, which is a great town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DollysDaughter_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazo also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing