We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Improved ~Great location~Friendly staff~Better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Much Improved ~Great location~Friendly staff~Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We gave this hotel another try, due to reading more recent reviews, and we are glad we did. I wrote a review in 2012 with suggestions and problems we encountered, but this overnight stay in early September, 2013 was excellent. There have been some changes made and we were pleasantly surprised.

We used our reward points for this visit and were given a nice king bed room on the 5th floor. The lobby and hallways were clean and updated from last year. The staff was very friendly. Our room was very clean, mattress was comfy, and even though there were many guests, it was very quiet. I always need to bring along my own pillow for Holiday Inns, not to my liking. The restaurant has been upgraded and staff there and at the front desk are very friendly..

The location is excellent and downtown Portsmouth is only a 5 min. drive. I'm so glad this hotel has been upgraded and changes have been for the better. We will return next September

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeourUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I appreciate your knid words regarding your most recent stay. The management and staff work very hard to offer excellent product and service. We look forward to your visit next Septemeber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    113
    90
    40
    31
See reviews for
93
122
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
224 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

No complaints with the hotel. A good basic holiday inn. We stopped in Portsmouth for the afternoon and used priceline and this hotel came up. People were nice, location about 4 minutes by car to Portsmouth. Portsmouth was an excellent 1/2 day stop.

Room Tip: Top floor has larger rooms but elevators stop on the one below it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am very proud of the staff. They are all truly hospitality professionals offering warm and genuine service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanatah, IN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night. As we are rewards members, we were upgraded to the newly renovated rooms and received 2 complimentary drinks in the bar. Everyone we dealt with was helpful and friendly. Great location. Nice room. Bathroom was a little small, but that was minor. Will definitely stay here again when visiting Portsmouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. Here, at the Holiday Inn, in Portsmouth, we take pride in offering superior customer service to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, NY, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel probably 40 - 50 times in the past 8 years. I finally gave up because it kept going down hill. But this trip I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been upgraded, the restaurant has been upgraded and the staff is friendly. I'm guessing they have had a fairly recent change in management. Nice job!!!

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 6th floor!! The elevator stops at the 5th floor ... you have to walk up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldBull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear OldBull2,

As always we are glad to read feedback from one of our valued guests and thank you for choosing to stay with us all the time. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your past stays. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great all around hotel. Great location from downtown Portsmouth and malls and grocery stores. Good size rooms and very nice front desk staff. Will be back again for sure and we love Portsmouth area. Thanks for the friendly hospitality and great hotel meal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am happy to hear you left our hotel with such a great impression of our staff and level of service. We hope to see you in the future! :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Labor Day weekend. Right off the highway and conveniently located for traveling around the area. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Lounge was nice to relax in after a day of shopping at nearby Kittery outlets. Only complaint is there is only one elevator and it is slow. Waited every time I needed the elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubbs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We used the Holiday Inn Portsmouth as home base for a trip to the southern Maine beaches. The hotel was easy to get to from the highway and we were able to drive to downtown Portsmouth easily. We found the room clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but we were not spending a huge amount of time at the hotel. Parking was convenient and we did not notice any noise from the highway. There is a diner right next door and we had a good breakfast there. i recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing