We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't worth the discounted rate (priceline)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wasn't worth the discounted rate (priceline)”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We used priceline.com and "named our own price", it was about 50% cheaper than the hotel's rate. Was not worth it.

Middle of June, still a bit cool outside/in room--turned on the heat in the room, just blew cold air. Asked the front desk about the heat, was told "the heat is turned off, best to turn off the system, you "might" get some warmth that way".

Great location, nicely done lobby, rooms were okay. TV hadn't been upgraded (yet), reception was horrible to watch game 7 Stanley Cup final.

Traffic outside the hotel (traffic circle) created alot of noise--could hear traffic the whole time we were there (night and day).

Room Tip: name your own price is a must (online)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstoreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    116
    92
    40
    32
See reviews for
94
122
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
243 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have stayed at a lot of hotels and find this one to have an outstanding staff of dedicated people, that go above and beyond to make your stay most enjoyable. Also if you get a chance have dinner in the restaurant. They have a great menu that uses local fresh vegetables, seafood and made to order meals. Kudos!!!

Room Tip: They have a few suites on the top floor just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkpoud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel room was big and cozy. I didn't know a bed could be that comfortable or sheets that soft - especially so at a hotel. I LOVE that they offer firm and soft pillow options. Rarely do I stay at a hotel with comfortable pillows. Yes, the bathroom is quite tiny, but that's not a hugely negative thing for me - how much of the trip are you spending in the bathroom anyways? They have wonderful bath & body shampoos/lotions and nice soap. I had a corporate discount which made things even better. Loved having a King size bed. Plenty of shopping and dining opportunities in the area. Roundabout diner next door has easy convenience for dining.

Room Tip: UNH students, parent or Alum get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msanbnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

An older hotel where staff goes out of their way to make things perfect. Especially the evening shift lady. She makes it happen. From changing rooms to getting refrigerators replaced. This is the third week in a row I've stayed here and will keep returning because I feel welcome and valued.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiuxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

As far as the hotel itself, I have minimal complaints. The bathroom was way to small. I couldn't even sit properly on the toilet without my knees hitting the bathroom door. However, everything was clean and to me, that is most important. All that being said, I am a platinum priority club member and was not treated as such. There were no upgrades or refrigerators left to be had (although there should be one in every room-it is the 21st century). And, with no refrigerator, they still charged me 2dollars every morning to give my daughter some milk or cranberry juice. I know this sounds petty, but I spend an obscene amount of money to maintain platinum status and should get a few perks for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpurple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had to make last minute plans to Portsmouth, NH., My Husband, daughter and I have stayed at $300.00/per nite hotels in the past and for that price were not that happy with them. When we made the reservation on line, I couldn't help to think in my mind, OMG, I can only imagine what this room/hotel will look like. Well, when my sister and I walked to the lobby I was very surprised! When we went to our room, even more suprised, very clean, neat and updated! The room was just as nice if not better than hotel we like to stay in when we travel. Will stay at the Holiday Inn again! with more money in our pockets to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon, nh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here with our 5 children over April vacation and really enjoyed it! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great for us with not more than a 10 minute drive to lots of outlet shopping, the mall, restaurants and Chuck E Cheese. We ate breakfast at the hotel and the service and food were outstanding plus they give you coupons to use in the restaurant which is helpful to save a little money. The lounge with complimentary cocktails was wonderful, the kids loved the pool (although we did wish it had a hot tub) and complimentary cookies in the evening were a big hit too. We had 2 rooms and while we did wish they could have been adjoining (we were told there were none available) it still worked out fine, they were clean and comfy enough. The diner next store has wonderful food as well-we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: 300 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing