We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We spent the 3 day 4th of July weekend here after reading some of the reviews.The man that handled our checkin was extremely nice and helpful.Our room was very clean and was a reasonable price considering the holiday--a lot cheaper than the competition.This was a nice little commute to Hampton Beach each day--right off the large traffic circle that connects Route 1 and Interstate 95.The breakfast buffet was quite basic but good.It was well stocked the first morning,but the next day there was no decaf,no plates,almost out of everything after only open for 15 minutes;There was only one other individual there.The man on for the morning shifts was exactly the opposite of the guy that was on in the afternoons--not friendly or caring whatsoever.All in all,we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 438 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

We arrived late at night and hungry. The front desk was very helpful finding us a restaurant still open. The room was very clean and comfortable with all the basics in good working order. The price was even better. An excellent stay while en route.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann11790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We choose this hotel after searching online. We were only there for 2 nights and had a pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was clean and comfortable and easily accessible from the interstate. They had continental breakfast which was good. We would stay again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

In previous visits we have found this hotel to be comfortable and clean. The cookies in the lobby are always appreciated and the staff has always been helpful and friendly. The staff was still as helpful and friendly as ever and the fresh cookies are still there but this visit there was evidence of deterioration of the facilities. The television wasn’t working and the shower curtain bar was falling down. Since we were only there for one night we didn’t bother to tell the management about the television but we did mention the shower curtain when we checked out. Aside from these problems this is an okay place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psych_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The Best Inn was clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. I used a room saver discount coupon. There is no indoor swimming pool on-site; you must go to a neighboring property.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Inn is very nice and clean. Cookies at the check in desk everyday. The complimentary breakfast was fine. Bagels, english muffins, cereal, yogurt,fresh fruit juice and coffee.
It was plain and simple. No frills, but are renovating.
Bob, who was at the check in desk, was wonderful. He helped us in everyway. He printed maps for us. Was knowledgeable in the area and suggested some fun sights to see. He made us feel right at home. We never felt rushed or that he was to busy for us. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elly4599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Our romantic weekend away was nearly ruined by another hotel chain that left us literally sleeping in our car in 30 degree weather and stranded with no place to go. We contacted the 800 number for the America's Best Inn at about 6 am and after explaining our plight, were helped by a wonderful man who's name I wish I had gotten. He told us the Portsmouth hotel only had one room available that had beds smaller than we had hoped for. The operator contacted the Portsmouth hotel and between the two of them tried to get us what we really wanted as an early check in (normal check in is 3 pm). We were told they would get us in early but didn't know when a room would become available because they were booked up. We stopped by the hotel awhile later and met Courtney the front desk clerk. She told us she still didn't have a room yet but would call us after she talked to Housekeeping. We barely made it out of the parking lot when Courtney called to tell us she had a room available and to come back so she could get us in early. Our room was bigger than we expected and furnished more like a room in someone's home than like a hotel room. We gratefully slept a few hours and enjoyed our long awaited weekend. Every person we came into contact with was over-the-top helpful. I work in customer service and have for 25 years-you don't find people like this! It's rare to find compassionate people who are willing to help beyond their normal duties. Anyone can do a job, it's entirely another thing to be able to do that job with expert customer service and a friendly, helpful personality. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to others. In fact I'll be booking a room for my daughter soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drizztzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portsmouth

Address: 383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209 (Formerly America's Best Inns & Suites)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $76 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing