We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ale House Inn(Portsmouth)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$203
$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
141
169
88
30
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
169
88
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastfront deskroom was cleancookiesbagelsoff the highwayliquor storeother hotelsplace to staybit datedbar harbortraffic circlenew hampshirehotel roomroundabout dinerstayed one nightthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 444 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We recently celebrated my daughters birthday in downtown Portsmouth and while out celebrating, we decided to spend the night at a local hotel. We came across America's Best Inn, though not a brand we are familiar with, chose to pop in and and take a chance. So happy we did! The price was very reasonable, the rooms were spotless and the staff was beyond helpful! Althought the breakfast room is a bit on the small side, the selection was more than I was expecting from a budget hotel. The one perk missing was an indoor pool but we were directed by Tyrone (the General Manager) to the local Holiday Inn to use their pool at no additional cost! So if you're in the area and are looking for inexpensive and comfortable accommodations...this is the place to be!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
Thank BossLady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

After driving in heavy rain all day, we searched using our laptop for a place to stay and came upon America's Best. What a great find! The kindness and helpfulness of the front desk staff, the spacious, comfortable, and clean rooms, and the satisfying breakfast made this hotel one of the best accomodations we had in the two weeks we were away. I can't say enough about the friendly staff and how accommodating they are. Customer service is obviously a priority at America's Best. - very refreshing! The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Location is great , too. Many nice restaurants and shops nearby. With our wonderful experience in Portsmouth, we will now seek out this chain in other locations!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Staff is friendly and courteous. Rooms are very well kept and the management will go out of thier way to make your stay the most enjoyable as possiable. Very family oriented

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_h1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed for two nights. The hotel wasn't too bad. The room was very dreary. The sheets and towels were clean but had seen better days. Everything in the room seemed dull and needed a freshen up.

I don't think we would rush to book into that hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardifftravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I do not know how to begin to express words of praise towards the “America’s Best Inn” in Portsmouth, NH. My family frequently visits Portsmouth, and our glad we finally found a great hotel at a very reasonable price. The hotel is very easy to find, as it is located just off the highway but still very quiet and great for relax. Rooms are very generous in size, and the beds exceptionally comfortable. The cable TV had ideal picture and sound. Our girls liked free cookies and milk in the afternoon and very friendly personnel. The hotel is about five minute drives to downtown Portsmouth. All in all, we found a great hotel, I can assure you we will be staying with them again, and I hope you go check them out for yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovetotravel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews