We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to land.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
America's Best Inns & Suites
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to land.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast is included on site. Selection of items to toast, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and hot/cold beverages. Heated pool within walking distance at Holiday Inn. On site fitness center. Employees nice and wanting to please.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Janice, we are very happy to receive such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your clean and spacious room, the continental breakfast, and our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    137
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
87
156
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for one night and would like to return to see more of Portsmouth. We stayed here as a waypoint on a trip to Acadia and were glad we did. The rooms were very nice, wifi was good and the price was very reasonable. Check in and out was easy, parking was available and the room was very clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast was the usual cereal, juice and bread but we were happy to have it. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjk727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We look forward to having you stay with us again to see more of Portsmouth. Our front desk are excellent with providing directions and sightseeing/shopping/dining advice to our guests. As you noticed, they are also highly efficient with checking guests in and out. Thank you for your kind comments on our clean rooms, spacious complimentary parking and breakfast. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Decided to tag along very last minute on a trip to Portsmouth N.H. My companions were already booked here. Gentleman at front counter very friendly. He was able to reserve me a room at last minute which was great. Location is very convenient to down town Portsmouth. One and 1/2 mile walk through beautiful neighborhood depending on Rt. taken. Beds were comfortable rooms spacious. Only issues we had were, my room entry door out of square. You could see into hallway more as you looked down door. That which may or may not have been the problem to housekeeping's racket in the hallway waking me up at 7:15 each morning. My companions did not have that issue with their room. Air conditioning in my room was tricky, theirs wasn't. Breakfast was continental and included. Cookies are on counter for quick snack. Coffee was great. Great diner across the street quick walk. My friends with me frig. smelled horrible and could not be used. One other problem upon check out was confusing price of room. We thought the price I was given upon arrival was price of the room. It ended up being 20 dollars more when tax was added. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The pool is across the street and the Holiday Inn which is there sister Hotel. The is also right ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Kelly,
Would you mind contacting us directly with more information about your door so that we can have it fixed? I apologize for the noise you heard but want to let you know our housekeeping staff do not arrive until 9am on a daily basis. I am glad you enjoyed the fresh cookies supplied in the lobby in the afternoon hours, and our 24/7 fresh coffee. I would also like to have more information on the refrigerator in your friends room so that we can address this with housekeeping. As for the pricing confusion, in the State of New Hampshire, there is a 9% tax on all meals and lodging. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to have you with us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here three times. The staff has been very friendly and professional as well as accomodating to our needs. The rooms are modern and could be compared to a Comfort Inn for their sophistication and cleanliness. Some minor things to be aware of - The pool is actually at the Holiday Inn about a block away. It is shared by the hotels and other than lacking a bathroom or hot tub, it gets the job done. The continental breakfast is a little lacking but the affordability and staff more than make up for any shortcomings. -Highly Recommended-

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonAllsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property and choosing America's Best Inn for your accommodations. We are also glad to hear you reviewed us on our modern rooms that sophisticated and clean. The Holiday Inn pool is 500 feet away and because we are sister properties, they allow our guests to use the pool for free. Thank you for commenting on our great rates and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, NY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Another great stay......we were in town for 5 days and 4 nights and once again had a very pleasant stay for a great price. The location is wonderful "half way" to everything we wanted to do, so easy to access the beaches south of Portsmouth and to get on the Spaulding Hwy to get us to Dover and Rochester. Room was comfortable and the added bonus is the refrigerator & micro wave to enjoy the leftovers from all the great dining experiences we had. Grabbing a coffee along with a apple and some yogurt in the morning sure helped start each day's adventure. After a full day of exploring, shopping & eating to be greeted with a friendly smile each evening (Becca) made us feel like we were coming home. Between her and Tyrone in the morning you have some great employees with excellent customer relations skills. We have told all our family who visit the area that this is the place to stay. HAPPY!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustang88actuator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We were so glad to have you back! We are very fortunate to have such an excellent location that is indeed, halfway to everywhere. Our hotel is easily accessible to the 95 North and South, Route 1 North and South, as well as Route 16 and the beautiful Seacoast beaches. We are glad you enjoyed having a microwave and refrigerator in your room. All rooms feature these which are an excellent amenity to have for leftovers from the excellent restaurants Portsmouth has to offer. Thank you for mentioning Becca and Tyrone! Our front desk staff are very friendly and welcoming and we are glad you reviewed us on this. Thank you again and have a lovely day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located outside the town but it's a short walk to downtown where everything is happening.it was quiet and very clean,the stuff super-friendly and helpful.they serve a bit of breakfast downstairs but right across the street is a diner which is a great option.the parking lot is spacious and i believe guests are able to use an indoor pool in a nearby Holiday Inn-great option for a rainy day.we enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katerina2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to review our clean rooms and friendly staff. Thank you for mentioning the Roundabout Diner! They are a great little diner just across the street that offer breakfast all day as well as lunch and dinner. Very helpful to guests who want more than our complimentary continental breakfast. You are correct about the Holiday Inn and their pool. Our guests are allowed to use their indoor heated pool and also are entitled to 10% off breakfast and dinner at Table 21 (inside the Holiday Inn). Thank you and again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Value at it's best. Great helpful staff. Convenient Location. Grabbed a bite for breakfast each morning...good to start the day. Will stay again when I am in the area. Lots to do close by. Highway easy on and easy off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorri304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dorri,
We are so pleased to read your kind words. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you mentioned our great value, friendly staff, and easy location to major highways. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inns & Suites

Property: America's Best Inns & Suites
Address: 383 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inns & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your America's Best Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing