We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
America's Best Inns & Suites
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderfully friendly staff.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellently valued accommodation with good-sized, clean rooms that had all in them that a traveler could want.
The buffet breakfast was well-stocked & with a good range of hot & cold foods & drinks.
The only problem we had was in finding the hotel because of local roadwork diversions but the local constabulary were on hand to point us in the right direction.
All the staff went that extra mile to answer all your questions with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooner1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    137
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
87
156
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is owned by Holiday Inn owners and is a very nice, clean, friendly place to stay. We had a welcome bag in our room with nice treats in it. We ate at the diner across the street and the food was very good. Nice and convenient place would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for Alumni weekend at UNH and had a great experience. The hotel was nice (a great value for what you pay) and perfectly situated for going to the game at UNH and then also very close to downtown Portsmouth. Will at the front desk definitely made our entire trip though, he was super friendly and made us feel right at home! If it wasn't for Will going above and beyond I most likely would have never written a review, kudos to him for his hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Some good and some bad with this hotel. The person at the desk checked us in early and was very friendly. The room was clean and spacious. The a few things I disliked: We had a room on the side by Route 1. It was sooo loud and I didn't sleep at all. You could hear ALL the traffic. Our room was right next to the elevator and it broke, so the stairs needed to be used and it made a loud noise everything it opened and closed. Plus we had the room by the ice machine...more noise! Get a room away from the elevator /ice machine and on the inside and you should be fine. There is only a door in front and on the side by Rte1 towards the front. The parking in front is very limited so we had to park in the back. This was a pain when we went to leave and had to walk all the way to the back w/our luggage and bags. The continental breakfast area was small and crowded. We grabbed a couple things, its a typical continental breakfast. The price was great for what we needed the room for. I would stay again I would just def get a room on the inside and away from the elevator. I thought the bed was comfy too.

Room Tip: If you get a room get one that doesn't face Route 1. The traffic noise was terrible. Also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am so sorry to hear the highway kept you awake. For your future stay, please feel free to put in a request for a quiet room away from the highway, elevator and ice machine and we will do our best to accommodate you. We do have complimentary parking on each and every side of our building for all guests. We also allow our guests to temporarily park out front of our entrance to load baggage into their cars with our luggage carts. We are glad we were able to check you into your room early and that you enjoyed meeting our friendly staff. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stopped at this hotel for two nights. It is a nice, clean hotel, and the bed was quite comfortable. It is close to the main highway and a short drive from downtown Portsmouth. Guests can use the facilities at the Holiday Inn on the other side of the street. The hotel is in a quiet area with no restaurants or shops nearby. Continental breakfast was nice with a good choice of cereals, bagels, etc. The breakfast room is small with only 6 tables, but we didn't have a problem getting a table

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdsfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at America's Best Inns & Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are so grateful for your review of our hotel. We are fortunate to be the hotel that is "halfway to everywhere". Close to all major highways and just minutes from downtown Portsmouth. The Holiday Inn across the street has a lovely restaurant called "Table 21" and our guests receive a 10% discount there for breakfast and dinner. There is also a diner across the street called the "Roundabout Diner". They are both within walking distance and have excellent food. I am sorry we did not inform you of the local restaurants. We hope to see you again in the future and we hope you get the chance to eat at the diner. It has excellent desserts! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

PROS:
~The most 'budget' hotel we could find in the area.
~Short drive into the center of town where parking is only $75/hr.
~Free WiFi
~Plenty of outlets in the room.
~Friendly staff, especially Mr. Walker on the front desk.
~Clean, modern, looks recently renovated.
~Elevator available.
~Free parking.
~Quiet.
~Easy to find, right off the freeway.
~You can go to the sister hotel nearby and use their pool. (Holiday Inn).
~Nicer inside than you'd expect!
~All the amenities you need in the room like microwave, hair dryer, iron, TV, toiletries, etc.

CONS:
~Found the TV a little tricky to work out!
~No towel rack -- just a shelf under the sink.
~Sheets smelled of bleach.
~Breakfast fairly basic, but adequate.
~Breakfast room a little small for the number of people.
~Center of town not particularly walkable from the hotel -- best to have a car to get there.

Overall, a pleasant hotel stay for the money for our night in Portsmouth. I recommend the 'Dolphin Striker' restaurant for dinner in the center of Portsmouth.

If you found this review helpful, please click 'YES'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights.
The room was very clean and quiet. The manager was very helpful.
For breakfast there was a choice of cereals, bagels, toasts, some fruits, coffee and juice. It was sufficient for us.
It was a short drive to downtown (5 minutes), very conveniently located near the highway.
If you go into town there are a couple of free parking lots, we used the one on the corner of Pleasant Street and Junkins street.

I would definitely go back there, the price was good for what we got. The fact that it was a 2-star hotel made us uneasy at first, but it definitely felt like a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaida51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inns & Suites

Property: America's Best Inns & Suites
Address: 383 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inns & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your America's Best Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing