We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't always judge a book by its cover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I didn't have high hopes staying at an America's Best Inn, but the price and location were right! I was pleasantly surprised! The lobby and breakfast area were clean. The room was clean, comfortable and a nice size. Will at the front desk was one of the best hotel staff I have ever encountered. He was extremely friendly and helpful with anything we asked him. He was very genuine and we felt that he really cared about us as guests. The hotel has a great location, right off the interstate and is a short 5 minute car ride to the heart of the city. By staying 5 minutes away from downtown, we probably saved over $100 per night. My only reason for not giving 5 stars is for the size of the breakfast area. It is not an adequate size for a sold out hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyCatLadyVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing America’s Best Inn Portsmouth. Our staff members do an excellent job with keeping our hotel clean and comfortable for our guests, and we are glad you noticed. We are so happy you had the pleasure of meeting Will. He is an excellent asset to our team. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed here while visiting a few places in New England. The room was small, but clean- The staff was very friendly. The location is about a 5 minute drive from downtown, but you can get a cab ride or I imagine even walk on a nice day. For people on a budget, this is an ideal place. I checked out the free breakfast in the morning, but just took a coffee. Typical fare- toast, cereal, fruit, and yogurt. Unlike the other hotels downtown, this has free parking. Again, not fancy but a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogmom11236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed there because we discovered a discount coupon for this hotel along our travels. Was a bit sceptical at first but was pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and comfortable. We stayed there for 3 nights and did not hear a sound from other rooms or hallway. It is close to town and 5 minutes drive to the Kittery, ME outlet stores. Front counter staff were pleasant and helpful. Special thanks to Will who was exceptional and called us by name every time he saw us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location to downtown Portsmouth and the extremely affordable price. We traveled for the fourth of july when many of the downtown hotels were around $300.00 a night. Americas Best is only a $10.00 cab ride and five minutes from all the restaurants and shops in the harbour and not even half that price. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nicely decorated. The beds are very comfortable. Our room was clean and even though it was near the elevator it was quiet through the night.

Room Tip: This seemed to be a popular hotel for families with small children as we could hear them running and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly-Beth143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tbe room was fine and the beds comfortable. The cookies on the silver tray upon checking in were a nice touch. Breakfast was more than adequate and really don't see how they could have added more to the offerings because the breakfast area is quite small. Considering the space, they did a good job with the breakfast items. If you're willing to chance it without a reservation, the hotel coupons book you find along the interstates had a great deal for this hotel - $40 less than the AAA rate we paid. Even so, we thought the price was fair when we booked it. Would stay here again if we were ever in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Everyone was very nice and helpful. I'm from California and don't know my way around and everyone who worked there made me feel welcome and safe. Staff helped me get taxis and made sure I was on time to the wedding I went to.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaleahdepicciotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestInnSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are so glad you chose to stay with us whilst here for a wedding. We host many wedding groups during the year and our staff love assisting each and every guest with their inquiries.
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed there for couple days and I loved it. Great location close down town portsmouth maine is like 5 minutes away . Staff were really friendly and the rooms really clean. With our room key we could go use the pool at the holiday inn or eat at the restaurant. Thank you guys

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maschas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portsmouth

Address: 383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209 (Formerly America's Best Inns & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $90 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing