We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at America's Best Inns & Suites and it was ok.
Nothing fancy, our room was clean but dated. No flat screen TV, but a big plus was the microwave and fridge. Wifi was also included as is a continental breakfast, although with limited items.
We were given a bedroom next to the elevator, which was quite noisy.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
As we were out touring all day and only came back to go to bed, it was an ok spot considering the price we paid.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the elevator, which I found was quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABIGroupSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We are thrilled to announce that we are now in the process of replacing our TV’s to new flat screen TV’s. Your positive feedback is critical and we are also thankful you shared your opinions on how your stay with us in the future could be better. We are pleased you enjoyed having a microwave and fridge in your room. This has been part of our recent renovations to make all of our guests have a more pleasurable stay. Feel free to request a room away from the elevator for your next stay and our front desk will be happy to accommodate this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 430 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Recently visited with my adult cousin & 2 teenage girls for the Columbus Day weekend. We had a great experinece, no complaints. Our room was clean and modern. The beds/pillows were comfortable. The shower had plenty of hot water with good pressure. (Loved the new bathroom wallpaper too, incidently). The front desk staff and housekeepers were friendly and always accomodating.
We even stayed an extra night. My daughter & her friend utilized the Pizza delivery from one of the local establishments on 2 occasions and were happy with that! The location is great, close to I 95 and to all points north (Maine) and to the city of Porstmouth and Rte 1A. We had 2 car problems (while in town), which required us to contact AAA for assistance and even they were friendly and welcoming. I think Portsmouth is a friendly town with great shopping and good restaurants. The continental breakfast was adequate and there was two sets of washers & dryers (reasonable & comparable) downstairs with vending machines, travel brochures, an ATM and a small gym with equipment, a water cooler and a flat screen TV. The only suggestion I would like to make is to install a change machine for the coin laundry & vending machines downstairs, as it is not always possible to get change from the front desk. As I understand from the information found inside the room, it is possible to use a neighboring hotel's indoor pool, so even though there is none on the property itself, there is one nearby for guests to use. The roads around the traffic circle can be a little tricky as there are one way streets and specific exit ramps, but after a day I had it down and did not get lost. I would definately reccomend this property to other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABIGroupSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your delightful response in regards to your visit at our hotel. We are happy to hear you extended your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the wonderful happenings of Portsmouth. We are glad you noticed the amenities our hotel has to offer such as our fitness center, washer & dryers, travel brochure area, and vending machines. For your next stay, feel free to ask any of our front desk agents for change for use of the laundry or vending machines and they will happily assist you. We also hope you get to take advantage of the indoor pool at our sister hotel, the Holiday Inn of Portsmouth. Simply show the staff at the Holiday Inn your room key from our hotel and they will provide you with towels. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had 2 rooms booked for our party of 3 girls on a 2 night shopping trip October 12th and 13th. The hotel has been renovated and is actually quite nice for what we paid and expected. We were only in the hotel to sleep. The rooms we got were very nice and clean and renovated. The breakfast is as stated by other reviewers. It is located in a very small room and very limited in selection. If you want toast or cereal then that is all you will get. Now, the walls between these rooms are paper thin and my friend could hear ever word of the conversations in the other rooms. During our 2nd night, Saturday night, my sister and I were abruptly woken up by late night partiers arrving at 2 AM to their room next to ours. We had one of those adjoining doors and you could quickly hear them next door and smell pot wafting through the door frame. We had to open the windows as we don't want to breathe in that stuff. Then these folks left their room, banged on all the doors on the (non smoking) 3rd floor. They kept my friend up for 2 hours as they moved their party to the room beside hers and went on until the wee hours of the morning. A call to reception got us nowhere. I did tell them in the morning about the room number smoking the dope and reception did seem concerned and said they'd charge this room $ 250.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HamptonNB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located off the highway, and well placed for trips in to town. We checked in to our room, and were not pleased to find hairs, blood stains, and what looked like bits of pizza in the bed, and hairs all over the bathroom. We complained, and were told that the sheets are only changed every couple of days! After a bit of confusion as we edged ever closer to the door and the Holiday Inn down the road, it emerged that a front-desk cock-up meant that housekeeping hadn't been told that we were a new checkin, and they thought this was our second night. To give her credit, the housekeeper seemed absolutely mortified, and quickly sorted it out - when we returned from our trip to town the room was spotless.

I made two more trips to reception, first to ask why the wifi didn't work - "Oh, yeah, sometimes it's like real slow" - well, either it's >24 hours slow, or it's plain broken, my friend. My second trip was to moan that the entire 3rd floor ("this is a non-smoking floor") stank of dope, coming from a raucous party a few doors down - "oh, yeah, we heard that." Thanks, really helpful.

By the time we'd discovered that the toilet didn't flush properly either, we'd become fed up of making fruitless trips to reception and didn't even mention it.

The breakfast room is pitifully small, and only has enough room for about 10 people to mill about in confusion wondering whether the breakfast on offer can really be as dire as it appears. On the plus side, the coffee is quite good, and you can take it with you while you look for somewhere for a proper brekkie.

We couldn't get out of there fast enough, but it is reasonable value given it's location, and is marginally better than sleeping in the car. The days of homebaked cookies in reception are clearly long past, however.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blowback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABIGroupSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

I am saddened to hear you feel you had a horrible stay with us. I can assure you our sheets are changed on a daily basis by our hardworking housekeepers. I am glad that our Housekeeping Manager was able to take care of your room that afternoon and you were pleased with it being spotless upon return.
Our Wi-Fi box has been upgraded and we are pleased to continuously offer our Wi-Fi as a free amenity to our guests.
Many of our bathrooms are in the process of renovations. Not only to improve functionality, but appearance as well.
We are proud that we offer our cookies on a daily basis and pleased that so many of our guests enjoy them. We look forward to seeing you soon and hope you appreciate the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Check in seemed easy and I was initially impressed that reception seemed modern, clean and quite nice for a value hotel. We got to our room to discover it was dirty, hairs all over the bed and not clean. The Cleaners had not cleaned this room so after we complained a mortified Cleaner came into the room and after a confusing conversation proceeded to clean, we went out sightseeing whilst they did this.
In the evening my boyfriend said he could smell 'pot' 'weed' whatever you wish to call it. We opened our door and the smell was overwhelming. Boyfriend complained to Receptionist who told him that someone else had also complained and they couldn't do anything about it. These were non-smoking rooms too. Not only do you have a sign on the front of the door saying non-smoking but you also get another no smoking sign in the room. Plus, I thought smoking drugs was illegal!!!! Don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABIGroupSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We are happy to hear you were impressed with our efficient check-in. However, we are not happy to hear that there was a smoking situation during your stay. I can reassure you that our front desk is trained to take action if smoking occurs in a designated non-smoking area. We do in fact have many non-smoking signs around our property, but like all hotels, not everyone respects the rules. We do have mandatory smoking guidelines on our registration card for all guests to initial upon check in. Failure to comply results in a cleaning fee levied to the guest if found guilty. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very good value for money. Much better value than the Holiday Inn across the road. Good that competition works! Tea and coffee available all day and night. Free Wi-Fi. Good value breakfast. Most courteous and helpful receptionist. Tidy, clean, spacious room. Hair dryer right beside a mirror. Fridge (clean) and microwave (clean). OK - so no flat screen TV but to even mention this is being a bit trivial. Very good convenient location to the shopping and downtown Portsmouth. Much better than some other accommodations we have had on this trip.

Room Tip: No complaints about our room on the top floor facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABIGroupSales, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

What a great review! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Seacoast. We are delighted that you enjoyed the services our hotel has to offer. I am pleased to tell you that we are starting the process of updating our TV’s to new flat screen TV’s. Please let us know what you think of them when you next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#14 of 17 in Portsmouth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portsmouth

Address: 383 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209 (Formerly America's Best Inns & Suites)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $70 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing