We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best price for a clean room in Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
America's Best Inns & Suites
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best price for a clean room in Portsmouth”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not much charm or special anything, but for the price, we couldn't beat it in Portsmouth. It's right off the big rotary and has parking on site. We just didn't want to pay the big bucks to be on the water in downtown Portsmouth, so this hotel fit the bill for us on this trip. Breakfast is pretty meager, but offered in a nice room. Roomy bathroom, good bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youvegot2bkidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    137
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
87
156
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on the way to a family camping trip in Maine (July 25, 2012 )and on the return trip (July 28, 2012). Our 4 year old left behind a beloved stuffed animal after our first night. When we returned three days later I asked (without much hope) if someone had seen it. Not only had they found the stuffed animal, but they had recorded the room and date so it could be easily retrieved! I was so thrilled (so was my daughter)! I was so impressed with the care and concern that the housekeeping and front desk staff took in this matter! In fact, all of the staff that we encountered were amazing.
They even kept refilling the breakfast buffet until the end instead of quickly clearing it away like I have seen in other hotels! Every interaction was helpful and polite! I will recommend this hotel to friends who want to visit the fun of Portsmouth without going broke on the downtown hotels! The only reason I gave it four instead of 5 stars was the dated room we had the second night, but I was told it is slated for renovation soon. The third floor room we stayed in was newly renovated and very nice!
If you want to be treated well and save money, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larochei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for the night on July 28, 2012. We had pre-booked and got a non-smoking room with 2 double beds (no king available) for $99/night. Thankfully we pre-booked as walk-in's were being quoted $149/night for same room, smoking. The rooms were clean, staff friendly and it was perfect for us. The breakfast in the morning was great - offering oatmeal, cereals and different bread options. Location was very central and 5 miles to Kittery, Maine outlets. Definitely the best price in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEFUNIAK SPRINGS
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stopped here are were shocked at the prices at the other hotels. This one was considerably better priced. Very very clean rooms, comfortable, great staff. Used their laundry area and found it to be very well kept. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdaniel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding in the area. The other hotels listed for the wedding were the expensive ones right in the middle of town - Hilton Garden, etc. The location isn't as good, as you have to drive into town, but it was worth it to save the money.

The room was clean and quiet. There was always coffee and tea available in the breakfast room and fresh cookies at the front desk. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions. We were even able to get a room before check-in time so I could change for the rehearsal dinner.

There isn't a pool, but they also own the Holiday Inn across the street, so you can get free pool access there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trysta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Front desk clerk Samantha was very helpful in her knowledge of Portsmouth restaurants. The room was very clean and quite comfortable. The breakfast area is a little on the small side but adequate. As with most continental breakfasts, there is very little for diabetics so consider bringing your own whole wheat bread or bagels.
It is overall a great value for the the rate they charge. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will most certainly go back to it again without any doubt.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the second floor if you are a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Technobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at ABI for the Air Show and found it to be a good value. The hotel was clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the Holiday Inn across the street allowed ABI guests to use the pool and they offered a 10% discount on breakfast in their hotel too. Overall, we found it to be a good value for our rate and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
359 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inns & Suites

Property: America's Best Inns & Suites
Address: 383 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inns & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your America's Best Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inns And Suites
America`s Best Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Best Inn Americas
Best Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing