We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and clean”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“nice and clean”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

NIce and clean a bit over priced but was the cheapest around that area. rooms were clean and of reasonable size. didn't do the breakfast thing as there was not enough space to swing a cat in the breakfast room. Close to everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodielee22565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    92
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
52
78
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night on a recent overnight to Portsmouth. This hotel is not on the ocean or in historic Portsmouth but the location is very convenient to both. From the outside the place looks old and worn. Inside could use some updating. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though they were very dated. The bed and pillows were super comfy! Staff was friendly and efficient. Pricing was ok, but we were there on a Saturday during peak season so I consider that reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerLily312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I decided to book this hotel for a night at the last minute as we were enroute to another place. Pricing for a comfort inn seemed steep- but apparently this was peak season and we literally got the last room. The room was decent but then they gave us a room with 1 queen bed after promising one with 2 queen /twin beds. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. But their fitness room needs to be renovated before it causes some serious issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nara_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
511 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived on a rainy night and the first thing we noticed was that major construction was taking place in front of the hotel. It looked like several new buildings were going up. We found the hotel's entrance on the side and quickly entered the hotel. The front desk was friendly and we saw the breakfast room included two room as we checked in. We were happy with our spacious room that was appointed with colonial style furniture. We saw the past guests had abused the sofa and desk chair because they obviously sat down in wet bathing suits and left stains. The sofa was also pretty dirty. Other than those abuses, we found the room clean and the bed unbelievably comfortable. Our room had a microwave and fridge hidden in the console where a flat-screened TV sat. The shower was great for me, although I'm only 5' 4", so my husband, who is almost 6' had trouble. We noticed in the morning when we drew the curtains back that construction workers were busy outside but we never heard them working. Great windows! Breakfast was the typical Comfort Inn fare, which is not a complaint. Some of the guests should have better etiquette and put shoes on their feet and clothes on their bodies before they show up for breakfast. Pajamas and bare feet are not appetizing for breakfast. Perhaps a little sign like: please wear shoes and street clothes, would be nice. But that aside, this hotel was a good choice. It is not right off the highway, and instead you have to wind into town a bit, and then it's a short drive to the city center. We didn't have a problem with that at all. If we're in Portsmouth again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice Jacuzzi And Long Pool In Basement. Great For Laps. Exercise Room Looks Out To Pool Area. Nice Gym. Small, But Has Elliptical, Bike, Treadmill, And Weight Center. Breakfast Included Meat And Eggs Along With Various Pastries, Cereals, And Breads. Juices And Coffee. Clean Rooms. Elevator Was Rather Dated...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our second stay at this Inn. We were very impressed the first time around and have no reason to change our mind. The bed was still the softest I've ever encountered and I still didn't like that but it was clean and fresh and a lot of people might find 'soft' to be perfect.

The area around the Inn is being built up and that is a good sign. It is about 10 minutes from downtown Portsmouth making it very handy. Staff were pleasant, room was spotless, corridors were spotless, extra towels in closet along with extra pillows.

Again we didn't use the breakfast or the pool but if they are as good as the rest of the Inn then...

A fine place to stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenway1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds are pillow top, which I find very comfy. The TV'S are flat screen with a good selection of cable channels and they also have a micro-wave and small fridge in the rooms. The shower was good altho if your more than say 6' 5" you would have a hard time fitting in the shower from the way it is designed. The price is good for what you get in service and amenities. It is located about a mile to mile and a half off of I-95 and is close to most of the happenings of the Portsmouth area.They offer a decent breakfast too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank woodmaster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1190 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-5408 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Portsmouth
Comfort Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing