We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat out of downtown Portsmouth, but still a good place to rest your head”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Somewhat out of downtown Portsmouth, but still a good place to rest your head”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night, and it served its purpose quite well. There is some construction going on next door, I believe a new Rite Aid is being built, but that wasn't too much of a distraction. My room was just outside the elevators, but I didn't hear very much noise as would normally happen in most hotels. Part of the hotel's front facade was blocking my view from the window, but since it was snowing outside, it wasn't much to worry about. Breakfast was free, good and extensive, with various cereals, muffins, and beverages; there were also other items on sale in the lobby such as microwavable meals and candy bars(my room had a microwave but I didn't make any use of it). There is a pool and fitness center available, but I didn't partake of either. Anthony Melchiorri can rest easy, he and the "Hotel Impossible" crew won't need to rescue this place anytime soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the hotels' front facade isn't blocking your view, and also try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaintenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    90
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
51
75
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harmony, Maine
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My sisters and I met there for a girls weekend. Went to Kittery for shopping and back to the motel after a great dinner. Enjoyed it so much we plane on doing it twice a year.
Thanks for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is my second time to this Comfort Inn and it has been outstanding! Again!
The pool and hot tub were spotless every day..
The breakfast area was well stocked and kept very clean by the staff.
The room s were clean and the computers were moving almost as fast as mine at home!
Overall the staff was polite and the rate was very competitive...
I strongly recommend you make this your place to stay if ever between Durham, Dover,Portsmouth and Hampton, NH.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHURCHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was great. Rooms were clean with great pillows and very comfy beds. Pool and hot tub were nice and relaxing. Breakfast was good and plentiful even though we were a little late. Great value for the money. I would recommended this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laffinsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not new, not old. Good free breakfast. Exercise room and pool (small, indoor pool). Decent sized rooms. Large flat-screen tv. Nice shower. Decent sized mini frig. Nice front desk staff. Clean. Looks rough from outside (parking lot is tragic) but nice inside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed only one night. Room very comfortable, mattress soft and wonderful to sleep on it, good Plasma TV, efficient and kind people in the reception, no complaints at all.
Excellent breakfast with a wide sort of breads, waffles, jellies, juices, etc... And besides being far from Portsmouth, there's an excellent Market Basket Supermarket walking distance from the hotel. Fridge and Microwave in the room. I really recommend Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUCKFIELD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Working out of state and needed a nice place to stay for a long period of time, this comfort inn has been so accomedating in price and in everything else!! Very pleased with this comfort inn and thank you for your hospitality!! Much appreciated!! You make it easier for the working person and more hotels/motels should be like you guys!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1190 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-5408 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Portsmouth
Comfort Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing