We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We have enjoyed our previous stays at the Anchorage Inn. We find it clean, comfortable, the staff is always friendly and helpful and they have recommended us to some great restaurant in the area as well. The room was, as always, very clean and comfortable. We get a good nights sleep when we stay at the Inn. We typically go to Portsmouth every year to enjoy the shopping at the Kittery Outlets. The location is very convenient to all of the Portmouth attractions as well. We have recommended this Inn to all of our friends and family and will stay here again the next time we visit Portsmouth. The renovation of the spa was nicely done too as we do use the pool area which is always very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNTBurlington_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2009

My friend and I have stayed in many hotels in the area over the years as we made our annual trip to the Portsmouth/Kittery area for the shopping and great restaurants. This was our first stay at the Anchorage Inn and it will not be out last. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and had recently been updated. And you can't beat the location for proximity to the sites of interest.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Harrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My sister, my niece and I spent the weekend at the Anchorage Inn. From the friendly welcome and dinner advice from Tom at the front desk, to the kindness of the manager, we found the staff to be responsive and helpful.

The value was terrific as the facility offers extras, such as a very nice pool and beautiful new hot tub. The hours the pool area is open are generous so we could still use the facilities after a long day of shopping and dining in Portsmouth. A simple breakfast is included and there is free computer access in the lobby.

Our room was clean and quiet. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TrudyLookingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. The room was very clean. I am a business traveler and have stayed at a number of hotels and this was one of the best. Staff was friendly and Hotel was close to everything. Will be back

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RobertNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

I was initially really excited about this find. However, this was not a great hotel at all. It had a damp and dark feeling to it, the room was stuffy, the bathroom was dated, and while somewhat clean, did not feel clean. The bed was uncomfortable, and the breakfast was lack luster. I would not stay here again, and I was thankful it was only for one night as we were on our way to another destination.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank piccurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

November 13:
We chose this hotel because we had a Room Saver coupon and were very happy we did.The check in was fast and friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was the standard continental with very friendly service.Close to everything and the 95. Will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanJacMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

This was our 3rd stay. The new hot tub was absolutly wonderfull.
As always the staff was courteous, helpfull and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We have highly recommended this hotel to many family and friends and will continue to stay here when we visit Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbman441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $86 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing