We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk staff made my wedding day wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Front desk staff made my wedding day wonderful”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is my second time staying here and this time was even better than the first. They gave me a good deal on a jacuzi suite for my wedding night and even called the room after we checked in to see if there was anything we needed. Both times we stayed we used the indoor pool and hot tub. The breakfast area looks nicer than last time...they seem to always be upgrading! The room was wonderful, really spacious and clean. I love love love the fireplace! I didn't find out there was a sauna until I checked out otherwise I would have definitely used it. The people staying next door were talking loud at night but they quieted down after the front desk called them. I'm always amazed at how friendly and down to earth the staff is. Can't wait to come back again soon!

Room Tip: I've stayed in the regular rooms and in one of the suites and loved both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayKayMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    108
    54
    37
    45
See reviews for
106
142
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This Location is right off I-95, minutes from downtown and about the same from Kittery Outlets in Maine. We shopped during the day and enjoyed the nightlife downtown. Rooms are very clean, staff is extremely friendly, especially Tom who gave us a list of things to do before our dinner reservations downtown. Breakfast is abundant - Internet is free and they even have a heated pool which i didn't use but plan on doing so on our next trip. Thanks to the Anchorage Inn team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here with my family this past weekend, and I must say I was truly happy and impressed. Though privately owned it has everything you can expect from a major chain. the front desk staff was extremely friendly and was enquiring often as to how they could help make our stay more enjoyable. We stayed in a room with two beds and the room was very spacious and everything in the room was functional. the Housekeeping staff also did an exemplarily job in keeping the room clean. The swimming pool was beautiful, and I also got to see their specialty suites, which are truly gorgeous and each one looks different form the other. One has a rustic look and the other one has a contemporary design. Each and every staff we encountered was extrememly courteous to us.

Room Tip: Stay at the Haven Suite!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DNTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my grandmother from sunday november 10-wednesday november 13. My sister also came over to hang out for a few hours a night. Both of our backs are totally covered with very painful bed bug bites. We both had to go to the doctor and miss work over this. I noticed someone else also wrote a review about the bed bug issue so I'm writing one as well. My sister called and reported the problem an was told 'we've never had that problem here before' so she brought up the reviews as far back as August of last year reporting bed bugs and was then told 'last time this happened we just shut off that wing of the hotel'. Are you kidding me?! DO NOT STAY HERE!! If I could include a picture of what these bites look like I would but unfortunately I cant. Please take my advice and steer clear because these bites HURT.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Ririnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed here several times in the past couple of years - LOVED IT. The staff was friendly the hot tub was so nice. This past stay however - was a totally different story. Sad to say that around 1am when I was moving over my pillow I saw a couple of bugs running around on the bed. I turned the light on for further investigation and found a ton of bed bugs (I googled a photo image to be sure) all over my white sheets on the bed! Under my pillow - on top of the sheets, under the sheets. I jumped out of bed - and then found more on the other bed! So I quickly got up and went to the desk - I explained they had bed bugs - his response was less than satisfying. It was almost as if he was not surprised. He offered to switch out my room - and give me a percentage off my stay?!! I said that was not at all a good option. We ended up leaving the hotel around two am for another hotel. Anchorage Inn did pay for our stay at another location which I appreciated, however I do hope they take care of this bed bug issue because I could not imagine taking my children to a hotel and having bed bugs! It was absolutely disgusting and nothing worth paying for. It takes months and a lot of money to get rid of bed bugs - I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were looking for a place to stop for the night between Bar Harbor and Rhode Island. Anchorage Inns in Portsmouth turned out to be a good choice. We stopped at a service area on I-95 and found a HotelCoupons booklet, which got us a walk-in rate considerably lower than the internet rate. The hotel was close to the highway and a short drive from the center of Portsmouth, The room was simple, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. We spent a lovely morning walking around historic Portsmouth and then continued on our drive.

Room Tip: Non-smokers should make sure to ask for a non-smoking room, as there is a wing of the hotel where sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zvi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This inn is well maintained. The rooms are nicely decorated. I suspect they recently remodeled. Room had a refrig and microwave. Room was just the right size and heating/ac worked well. They only negative would be the beds. The linens are real nice however the beds are on the firm side. Breakfast is included which is great for those on the go. Location is handy and price is very reasonable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Property: Anchorage Inns & Suites
Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing