We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Goffstown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“great place to stay!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The place is friendly and clean,
People working there are very helpful.
Great location!
Highly recomended.

Really a pleasant stay..
the location close to ocean weather was nice.
we had alot of fun just staying local

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    107
    51
    37
    44
See reviews for
103
140
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My new hubby and i booked a room originally at another hotel. We came to new hampshire from CT to see an amazing singer at the portsmouth music hall and were celebrating our honeymoon on a budget. The hotel my dear husband booked online was disgusting. W a name ending in resort he didn't bother to read through the reviews. We quickly checked out and were roaming around looking for a hotel that worked for our budget. Thankfully the universe directed us to the anchorage inn. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was gorgous! The room was clean as could be, the breakfast was excellent, and the pool w hot tub was also clean and delightful! Holden at the front desk is now mine and my hubby's honeymoon hero!!! The customer service is above and beyond what you normally receive at a hotel. Thank you so much for turning our hpneymoon disaster into the most amazing experience anchorage inn! We love you Holden!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with a couple for a 30th Birthday Party that was happening in town. Service was slow but the location was perfect and they were super helpful with getting us a cab downtown in the pouring rain. The rooms are simple, but with plenty of space and larger beds then I expected. We got back fairly late and within 5 minutes had been accosted by a neighboring room and the bell clerk. We were simply laughing and changing our clothes to go to bed, we are 30 not 22 anymore, this was not extended loudness. When I returned home there was an additional fee on my credit card for over $100 that was never explained or addressed. I called the company 3 times and they continually agreed to take it off. It never happened. Not cool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emidge137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Room 353, though smaller in size, was excellently renovated. The bathroom renovation, with the high, white, beaded wainscoting, does set a nautical feel, highlighted with small, framed pictures on the wall in a nautical motif. Together with the hotel's name and the pool and spa water features, an artistic presentation is in evidence. Every decision is tasteful and modern, from the sleek wooden headboard, new furniture, latest model heater & a/c unit, plumbing fixtures, tile flooring in bath, paint treatments.

Two minor suggestion for the owners: 1. Make a traditional map of the property, showing the rooms, elevators, parking, etc., available at check-in Not sure why this long-standing custom has fallen into disfavor. What is old can be new again - help guests find their room, even if they have trouble listening to the clerks, for whatever reason. 2. Consider the guests needs for electrical outlets very carefully. The modern business and leisure guests may well bring a laptop, a phone for each guest, and even a digital camera that needs charging. Try to envision how the guests would like to deploy their various chargers, noting that bedside for the phone is ideal for both convenience and security. I suggest the small black units that sit on a bedside table and offer three outlets each, at different angles. Two of them would provide a total of six outlets. They can't be more than five dollars or so, wholesale.

The front desk staff were present at their posts on every occasion, answering guests inquiries in person or over the phone in a considerate manner. The overnight fellow, Tom, is highly perceptive of guest needs as well as amusing - could easily do stand-up comedy. Holden in the evening is attentive, helps solve problems. Melody on the phone during the day is creative is solving customer problems. Sorry I do not remeber the name of the woman at breakfast time, but she also has a service attitude.

Overall, a great value. Would return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PeterNMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed here for years. It is well located right on the Portsmouth Traffic Circle...close to downtown Portsmouth but right off the interstate. The rooms are basic, but clean and many have been refurbished. The free breakfast is in a bright, sunlit room with traditional food. The heated pool and hot tub are great year round. This is a great buy for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front do get traffic noise, so ask for the rooms in the rear. Taipei and Tokyo is a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjofnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The room was well updated. The pool and fitness areas were also updated and well kept. Some bad smells in the side entrance areas which may be attributed to the smoking rooms. Otherwise good hotel that offers a great value with the free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST21586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Property: Anchorage Inns & Suites
Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing