We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Inns & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

room not ready after special arrangements made on phone. key didn't work 90% of time. no room service 2nd day. No coffee maker in room (they provide a breakfast downstairs but I only wanted coffee - in my room) no pen or paper. computer out of order sent to hotel next door to print boarding passes. beds were hard

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maybeiwillmaybeiwont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    106
    51
    37
    44
See reviews for
103
140
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights the room was clean and tidy the beds were huge and very comfortable as both my wife and I have bad backs We paid a little extra for a better room this was at the far end of the hotel over looking the car park. There was a bit of noise in the morning but nothing too bad. The air conditioning worked very well. There was coffee available near the lobby 24 hrs a day the breakfast was not that brilliant unless you wanted sealed in a bag muffins and pastries this was free however and you didn't have to pay extra for it. We had a problem with the pool and hot tub in that it didn't open early enough for us. So we didn't get a chance to use it 9-11. The main down side of this hotel is that it's outside of town you can walk it in about 3/4 hour or pay $10 for a taxi into town.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Location
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I'm easy to please, but evaluate places on value. Hotel is two stars at best. My wife and I were traveling with our 11-month old and ended up with a musty room that needed updating and I wasn't really happy with our daughter crawling around on the floor. Wouldn't have been a big deal if we'd paid half the rate we did, but for the price I feel we got ripped off.

If you think the breakfast is a perk, don't count on it. White toast, bagels, english muffins and cereal, coffee/juice. That's it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NotMyRealName2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Been staying here well over ten years for business and continually impressed by the staff's attention to detail and bang for the buck.Located at the competitive traffic circle with no less than 3 other lodging options literally within walking distance,it includes continental breakfast,indoor pool with rock wall jacuzzi,conference rooms and fitness center.Plenty of free parking,24 hour staff (all who have been here as long as ive patronized this establishment which says something),safe & secure.ten dollar cab to downtown market square district or 10 minute drive to well over 10 dining options north on wood bury ave or fox run mall as well as pharmacies & market basket supermarket as rooms are equipped with micros & fridges.Drawbacks?Located between routes 1 & 95 so trucks & highway noise do exist and cell service can be very spotty.Anchorage inns are an indie local chain with family ownership also located in rochester,nh on 16 north on the way to popular Conway,nh and also several locations in maine along scenic rt 1.ALso stayed her with entire family for labor day w.end with small kids in suite and had a great time.Free wifi & public computer in lobby

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrapmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

The location of the hotel was great for our trip to Portsmouth & Kittery ME. Although our room was nice & clean, the bed was just too hard. There was enough pillows in the room but they were all the same and uncomforable for me. I was disappointed with the continental breakfast as by the time my husband & I got to the breakfast area the selection was only cereal as the rest was already taken and there was still 1 hour left for breakfast. I was overall disappointed with the whole experience as I had heard great things about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during April school vacation. Paid about $75/night with tax. Kids loved the indoor pool and adults loved the hot tub. Location is right off the Portsmouth traffic circle and a 5 minute drive to downtown or the mall. Very nice staff. Continental breakfast included breads, muffins, cold cereal, fruit, coffee/tea and juices and opened up at 5am! Wireless internet was free and plenty of parking. We will definitely return when we are back in the area. While here we did the Isle of Shoals cruise, visited Fort Constitution, went to the beaches in Hampton, York and Rye and enjoyed downtown.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilsonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springvale, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

This was a perfect, affordable place for a 24 hour getaway with my girls. The room was comfortable for 5 of us. The pool and spa were clean and not crowded. The staff was helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was adequate and free. :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Property: Anchorage Inns & Suites
Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing